New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

The calm before the storm

It’s quiet now, a sort of calmness that can make you nervous. You can feel instinctively that something is going to happen… It’s the calm before the storm.

It’s 2:00 in the afternoon, we are headed on Interstate I-65 north. My daughter, Jack and I are headed to Birmingham for tomorrows barbarian challenge. The car is packed and our “training” is completed, “it is what it is” as they say. Ready or not, here we come!

We have a four hour drive, then another hour in the morning…. I can hear something rumbling in the far distance. It will be tribes, hordes and clans of barbarians, a thousand to be exact…. Yep… It’s the calm before the storm.

Tomorrow the high is expected to be 93 degrees and factor in the humidity I think it is fair to say the heat is on!

I am ready to tackle this…. One of many challenges that make life so interesting. Jack will be our support taking pics that will prove our endeavors.

Yes, that eerie feeling of something big getting ready to happen…. I got this!

More to come so stay tuned to “the aftermath.”.

20120622-144318.jpg

2 comments on “The calm before the storm

  1. sherrylcook
    June 22, 2012

    I have no idea how to prepare for tomorrow but I will be there ready to go! Thanks for the support and I hope to see you but there will probably be 500 guys with a grey muscle shirt! I will have on a blue shirt with black spandex to the knee! Have a great run!

  2. coachcrystalspadawan
    June 22, 2012

    Sherry, I hope we can hook up tomorrow… I am wearing a dark grey muscle shirt and blue shorts… Coach Crystal was planning on just a sports bra, but she is a girl and reserves the right to change clothes – haha….If I dont see you before you run — GOOD LUCK!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2012 by in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 195 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 195 other followers

