New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

The battle ground of the barbarian challenge!

As I opened my eyes on the morning of the “battle” I felt a tinge of intimidation or second thoughts. I am after all a fifty one year old grandmother who is not in top physical shape. I consider myself average for my age and I have only been training for this obstacle course for two months. This will be my first experience with any type off athletic competition. My goal was to finish with pride, not to beat any timeframe.

I ate a bagel and a banana about an hour before we started. As we watched other participants come across the finish line covered in mud and looking pretty exhausted I wondered if I could do this. As our 10:00am start time approached we were branded with our wristbands, time chips around our ankles and numbers written on our arms. It was an atmosphere filled with camaraderie and anticipation.

Close to two hundred runners were corralled into a gated area as the minutes counted down to race time. As we mingled and talked to others in our horde I met a few other first timers, I was beginning to get some of my confidence back. We took the barbarian oath and listened to some final instructions before heading out into the 4.3 mile course through the hills of Gadsden Alabama.

Our first challenge was crawling over stacked junk cars, this was a piece of cake, by now my adrenalin was kicking in, until one of the other runners I had spoken with earlier had landed wrong jumping off a car (I heard the bone crack) and several of us called the medics over to help her.

We soon ran up to our next challenge which was a huge mud hole with wires hanging down. These wires would shock you if you touched them. I reluctantly got on my stomach and started moving under the wires, before long I felt one hit me with a force hard enough to knock me further into the mud. I could hear others yelling each time they got zapped, this was insane! Shanna and I both were shocked twice and when we crawled out of the mud pit we just looked at each other

Running through rivers, climbing 80 degree incline hills and overcoming the 15ft wall was a bit challenging and I had to stop a few times to catch my breath but I can honestly say I did it without cutting any corners. It was hot and it took us two hours and seventeen minutes but we did it!

The day after my body is sore and I’m tired. What is the next challenge? Only time will tell… Fear is not an option!

20120624-162302.jpg

20120624-163029.jpg

20120624-165310.jpg

16 comments on “The battle ground of the barbarian challenge!

  1. Pingback: How many things can YOU do at once? | New Visions

  2. Pingback: The good, the bad and the ugly. | New Visions

  3. Pingback: Very inspiring blogger award! « sherrylcook

  4. MyBrattyTasteBuds
    June 28, 2012

    Good for you! You’ve inspired me to look around my area for something challenging like this!

    • sherrylcook
      June 28, 2012

      Thank you! look for barbarian challenge, warrior run, mud run, obstacle courses etc. Hope you find something because this was something I will never forget and will do again!

  5. healthyfrenchie
    June 26, 2012

    Nice! You did so well! When is the next one?
    I can’t believe they actually put wires that could zap you! Seems a bit dangerous to me..
    Anyhow, looks like you had a blast :)

    • sherrylcook
      June 26, 2012

      yes, the next one is in Oct. but will only be three miles with no shock wires….lol sounds more like my kind of race, although I am very proud of the fact that we finished! Thank you for the mention on the inspiring blog award, I will respond in a day or so!!

  6. coachcrystalspadawan
    June 25, 2012

    Sorry I missed you! I didnt make it back before you ran… and was that really only 4.3 miles, someone said it was 6 and it felt like 13 (not that I know what 13 feels like, but you get the gist)!!

    Sore much??

    • sherrylcook
      June 25, 2012

      How long did it take you? we had to wait twice, once at the first hill and again at the wall. my time was two hours and 17 minutes!! The last two hills was the toughest….theres no way to train for that! It seemed alot longer than 4 miles to me but I was never so glad to see the end!

      • coachcrystalspadawan
        June 25, 2012

        I had to take a break on each of the last two hills… I almost got sick after the rope climb. I finished just under One hour and thirty minutes. I have never been so proud to finish.

        Was the last obstacle kinda ridiculous or was it just me? A giant tarp that you crawl through, it was like an oven in there…

      • sherrylcook
        June 25, 2012

        It was a little ridiculous after everything else we went through, my back touched the tarp and it was so hot I thought I got shocked again, I was having flashbacks… Lol.
        That last hill was so bad I had to stop and sit for a few minutes, some guy came by and pulled me up and urged me to keep going… We don’t have hills like that down here. :)
        I attempted to climb the rope but that was the only thing I couldn’t do. No one understands the feeling of getting to the end unless you’ve done it!

      • coachcrystalspadawan
        June 25, 2012

        Agreed… werent the endorphins awesome about an hour after you got done. (at least that was how long it took mine to kick in!!)

    • sherrylcook
      June 25, 2012

      I was very sore yesterday….even my fingers! but feeling better today!

  7. coachcrystalspadawan
    June 25, 2012

    AWESOME!!! That was so freaking hard. I almost puked (right after the rope climb) and passed out (on both the last hills and after the race). (That first fact was too much information, wasnt it?)

    I was so proud to have completed that thing — I know you feel the same. That medal was earned!!

  8. shanna
    June 25, 2012

    YAY…we did it….ready for the next one??? LOL

    • sherrylcook
      June 25, 2012

      Let me recover from this one before I answer that!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2012 by in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 189 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

