New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

A childs first pet

Unconditional love                             20120808-145506.jpg

We all understand the important role our first pet plays in our lives. We never forget the love we feel as we take care of our very own animal we are responsible for.

It doesn’t matter if it’s a dog, cat, rabbit, hamster, bird, snake, horse, pig, goat or bug. It is ours and we love them.

This is the story of Prissy and Jasper – a true love story of loss and gain.

 

Told through the eyes of a child…

Prissy is a tiny ball of fuzzy light brown fur with spots of white. She is the sweetest little hamster any six-year-old girl could ever ask for. Prissy will sit quietly in my hand while I watch TV, run around the house and play with my little sister. I love my little prissy so much. She will even come to me when I call her name. I’ve had her for three years and I take care of her all by myself. My mama also loves her, she says that she has never seen a hamster as sweet as prissy.

A short time ago I traveled with my family to visit my aunt Shanna and uncle Matt in Birmingham, Al. It is always fun to go on trips with my mama, sister and Tony. We stayed overnight and came home the very next day.

When we finally arrived home, I helped bring my things from the car inside the house. My mama pulled me over and held me tight. She told me that my little prissy had died while we were gone. I have never been so sad in all my life. I ran in to see her and she was laying very still. I held her and she didn’t move at all. My tears started flowing and I didn’t know what to do. I cried and cried for my little prissy. I called my Nana and aunt Shanna to tell them. They were both very sad and it broke their hearts to hear me get so upset. My heart is broken… I fixed up a little box with special little things for her, a blanket and little toys and trinkets. We buried my sweet little prissy in the back yard so I can go and talk to her anytime I want to. I even put some beautiful flowers on top of the grave. I miss her so much….

How to mend a broken heart

My mama understands how much I loved little prissy so she started looking for another pet for our family to adopt. It made me feel a little better.

She talked to a lot of people and found through a friend of hers a small dog that needed a home and a family. The lady said this small little dog got lost in a bad storm and wandered into her garage. He was shivering, cold and wet. My mama’s friend fostered him, looking for the perfect little family to adopt him. It seemed like a match made in heaven. I soon as I saw him, I wanted him…he is so cute and sweet. His name is Jasper.

20120808-151627.jpg

The next day, I couldn’t hardly wait to go pick him up and bring him home. He likes his new house and I played with him a little. The next morning my mama told me that Jasper had been sick all night vomiting. We took him back to the lady and she took him to the vet. The vet said that poor Jasper had a very serious disease called Parvo. The doctor also said that he didn’t think little Jasper would make it through the weekend but he would try his best.

We went home and I was so sad again. We got updates all weekend on how our little Jasper was doing. He got shots, an IV and lots of rest. Very very slowly he started feeling better and better.

We were able to go pick up Jasper today and bring him home again. I am so happy, my mama and sissy are happy and Jasper is the happiest… most loved little doggy in the world!. He even chased a frog in the back yard!

Welcome home Jasper,     I love you!

From AnnaClaire Crabtree and your new family!

 

20120808-151721.jpg

6 comments on “A childs first pet

  1. Jessica
    August 11, 2012

    Reading stories like this and seeing the smile on your daughters face is why the lady who had Jasper and people like her work so hard to help the helpless/homeless animals. I am so happy Jasper has recovered and found his furever family.

    • sherrylcook
      August 13, 2012

      Jessica,
      You are so right! There are so many people that give their time, effort and yes even money to help save these beautiful animals. My prayers are with everyone who contributes their talents to such a beautiful cause!

  2. diannegray
    August 9, 2012

    Oh, I got misty reading this! What a touching story :)

    • sherrylcook
      August 9, 2012

      I know Dianne….This is about my granddaughter….when she called me on the phone sobbing about her hamster….I broke down. It’s amazing the love we have for our children and grandchildren…or any child for that matter. Thank goodness the dog survived! Thanks for commenting!

  3. debi cook
    August 8, 2012

    SUCH A CUTE AND SWEET STORY…GREAT JOB SHERRY!!!

    • sherrylcook
      August 9, 2012

      Thank you Debi…..Haley read my story to AnnaClaire and she was smiling from ear to ear!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2012 by in Loving the Grandkids! and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 188 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

