New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

The rest is still unwritten

My memoir is near completion.

I’ve been working on it off and on now for nearly three years.  I feel like it’s my baby and I have cared for it and watched it grow into adulthood. I’ve shaped it while coloring inside the lines making a story out of the meaning of my life.  It is almost time to publish it and while this is what I’ve wanted for so long, I am almost timid about doing it.  Baring my soul for the world to see is a very scary thing.

I must stay focused on my goal. My wish is to tell my story so others will learn to be more compassionate and try to understand why people act as they do.  You never know when someone may be going through the hardest time of their lives.

My memoir ends wonderfully, almost as if a  Hollywood producer had written it. It’s amazing how all things work together for good but the rest is still unwritten.

I have a lot of living yet to be done and I feel like the best is yet to come.  I have been given a second chance to live a normal satisfying life.  I want to share my story with others that could possibly benefit from it.

Most importantly I want my daughters and granddaughters to learn from my experiences.  Life is a gift, treat it kindly and appreciate it.

The rest is still unwritten..

.

Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield.

Daily Prompt: This Is Your Song

The daily prompt….use a line from a song that describes you and write a story about it making that line your title.

“Unwritten”  

(Lyrics)

I am unwritten, can’t read my mind, I’m undefined
I’m just beginning, the pen’s in my hand,  staring  at the blank page before you
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not find Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your inhibitions
Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten, oh, oh I break tradition, sometimes my tries, are outside the lines
We’ve been conditioned to not make mistakes, but I can’t live that wayStaring at the blank page before you
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not findReaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your inhibitions
Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book beginsFeel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten

Staring at the blank page before you
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not find

Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your inhibitions
Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins

Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten

10 comments on “The rest is still unwritten

  1. butimbeautiful
    November 14, 2012

    I like that idea, of being unwritten.

    • sherrylcook
      November 14, 2012

      Yes, its a good concept…everyday a new page…a blank sheet for US to write!

  2. francisjourney33
    November 13, 2012

    I love this song! Your post has inspire me to keep going!

    • sherrylcook
      November 13, 2012

      Why thank you francis, if I can inspire anyone to do anything positive…well then, it’s all been worth it. lovely meeting you and I look forward to getting to know you better!
      hugs…Sherry

  3. Tea and Tao
    November 13, 2012

    Love this song and the idea of being a blank page everytime I need to start over ;)

    • sherrylcook
      November 13, 2012

      Isn’t that the truth! We are all blank pages and we write our own stories each and every day! Thanks for visiting
      Sherry

  4. Mickey
    November 13, 2012

    I wish you all the best with your book! I can’t wait for it to “hit the shelves”! Because it will be on mine. A signed copy! :-)

    • sherrylcook
      November 13, 2012

      Awww Mickey, I don’t know what I would do without friends like you…you are on the front line for a signed copy!

  5. CMSmith
    November 13, 2012

    Good luck with the publication of your memoir. I know how it feels to bare your soul to the world. If others had never done it, we would be bereft of much that we know and understand about love and human life.

    • sherrylcook
      November 13, 2012

      Thank you, I have a feeling that publishing will be a challenge all in itself…:-) I agree with you on other people writing their stories…I just love to read about real people and real life situations! We can all learn something from others.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

