New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

I’ve got the “craft” bug

Tis the season for colds, flu and all types of viral bugs in the air but as of late, I’ve been diagnosed as having the craft bug!

.

.

I’ve been painting for several years now slowly trying to improve my skills as an artist.  I’ve sold a few paintings and have been commissioned to do a few as well.  Nothing makes an artist feel better than to hear someone appreciate their art.

It’s not about selling my art (although it helps) but the process of creating that feeds an artists soul.  When I am painting, I can immerse myself in the project and lose all track of time.  It calms my nerves and helps me to think clearly about life in general.  I have built a website which advertises my art( http://sherrylcook.com)  , put my art on etsy.com  (https://www.etsy.com/shop/NewVisionsart) , pinterest and I also have a Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/NewVisionsSpecialArt)  devoted to my craft.

CRAFT?   did I say CRAFT?

In order for me to “get the word out”  into the public about my art, I thought it would be a good idea to set up a booth in an arts and crafts show.  Little did I know about how any of this works.  Like everything else, I googled it to inform myself on how to get started.

Since I am selling paintings, I need something to hang them on.  I built two walls of lattice-work, which is a post unto itself that I may write one day.  Most craft shows allow you a 10 x 10 space.  If it is an outside show you will need a tent, (preferably white.) You need a table, chairs to sit in, price tags, supplies…well, I think you get the picture.

So what does this have to do with crafts you say?

Most original paintings that artists create takes time, ability and a lot of passion, a piece of themselves goes into every masterpiece.  The price of course is strictly up to the artist and I’ve learned that the average arts and crafts customer does not come prepared to purchase high-end pricy products, (not to say my paintings are pricy.)  Which brings me to CRAFTS.

I knew I needed to create something that the customer can purchase without breaking their bank account.  I started thinking and looking around at what I had to work with.  I made signs, wall decorations, yard art, plant stands and iPad holders.  All for sale at reasonable prices.  The whole idea is to make a bit of money but mainly to get the customer in my little 10 x 10 corner of the world to show them my art.  Maybe…just maybe my art will move  someone and they will purchase a slice of my creative passions.

So my dear friends….this weekend is my first big arts and crafts show.

(31daystodeclutter.com)

.

My fingers have been cut, splintered, varnished and sanded. My house has been turned into a craft studio while I hunt for the drill one more time.  The sawdust is stuck on every square inch of my work room and I can’t find an inch of space on my kitchen table to eat on.  I’ve stepped on nails and made numerous trips to Lowes for more supplies.  This is hard work!   Hats off to all of you crafters’ who do this full-time!   I still have plenty to do….packing up, hauling everything to the venue, setting up, SELLING, then taking everything home again.

.

Will I do this again?

Only time will tell.  I know one thing is certain…I can’t wait to paint again…its a much calmer art form with soft music in the background and a glass of wine….lol, instead of the saw, hammering and drills.   Give me my acrylics and canvas please.  Who knows, If I am successful at selling…I may be convinced…Only time will tell!

4 comments on “I’ve got the “craft” bug

  1. sherrylcook
    November 23, 2013

    My etsy shop is. http://www.etsy.com/shop/NewVisionsart. Please post yours so I can follow it.

  2. thecontentedcrafter
    November 23, 2013

    Hi Sherry – somehow I managed to lose you from the blogs i follow – and lost touch. I came looking for you and find you are busily crafting. What Ho!! I hope it has all gone as well as you wanted it to – and that life is good for you. I’m tagging along again and hopefully won’t lose you from my lists again…… :-)

    • sherrylcook
      November 23, 2013

      I was wondering where you were! I may have lost you as well! Girl. This craft show business is something else! Not selling as much as I would like. But meeting some wonderful people and marketing. It’s so much WORK! Can’t wIt to calmly paint again to soothing music and a glass of wine again!
      Sherry

      • thecontentedcrafter
        November 23, 2013

        Good luck with those craft shows – I used to do some and never made a penny… so someone has to! I’ve just opened an Etsy shop, and apart from the first day have also sold nothing – it’s a bit sad…..but, as you say, the people you find along the way make it all worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2013 by in Life.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 189 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

