New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

The last day of 2013

As I frantically search for my spare car keys because I can’t seem to find my main one. I am at the brink of frustration knowing I am already an hour late for work.  I had turned off my cell alarm during the holidays.  Every morning at 5:30 am my chirping birds would go off as I realized I was off of work and I could actually go back to sleep.  By the fourth day of vacation I finally changed the settings so I could REALLY sleep late.  Alas, my current dilemma of not remembering to turn the alarm back ON!

sketchedout.wordpress.com  

 

As I arrive at my occupational destination an hour and a half late, I immediately begin to start solving problems and multi tasking.  Suddenly I remember that today is…

The last day of 2013

Where has it gone?    What did I do with all that time?  What did I accomplish?  What did I learn?

Plenty!

The time has slipped through my fingers one day at a time.

I spent way too much time working for unreasonable wages. ( I still have insurance though!)   I spent more time doing things I love to do but still want to do more.

***

I accomplished three websites, more quality time with the grand-kids and maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

***

I learned that love is fleeting and I should appreciate it for the moment.  It’s sad to say but I’ve learned that you cannot count on anyone for love, security or happiness.  I count on myself and only myself.  The only people I will hold no boundaries  are my children and grandchildren.

I’ve learned to break away the fairy tale endings that was introduced to me as a child and I learned that there are just as many bad people in this world as there are good people.

I’ve learned that the future is mine.  It doesn’t depend upon someone else and I have the right to choose the direction I go.   I have a bucket list and I intend to continue checking things off this list.

***

Come on 2014… I’m ready for you!

What will my lessons be for 2014?  Only one knows the answer, the only one other than myself that truly guides me and teaches me.

I will continue to put one foot in front of the other and make my way into the future with a willingness to learn, love and be loved.

As you look back over the year 2013, what will you remember the most?  What life lesson was the most moving to you?

 Website   –     sherrylcook.com

My Etsy shop   –   NewVisionsart

My fb page  –  www.facebook.com/NewVisionsSpecialArt.

Website  –  A Blind eyes View | Seeing things a little differently

One comment on “The last day of 2013

  1. thecontentedcrafter
    December 31, 2013

    Wow! You have been busy and learning heaps – well done you! My big lesson this past year has been learning [again] to be content with what is. It is what it is and it’s all really okay! Which is about trust, right? It’s been a great year, I was sitting with my morning coffee pondering just this – may have to write a post …..

    Much love to you Sherry, may your year be filled with all good things! xoxo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

