New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

The Cynical Valentine

We all deserve to wallow in self-pity sometimes.  To feel the pain of hurt, rejection and sadness.  

When I love, I love with my whole heart and soul and when I hurt, I hurt deeply.

I find myself on a path in life, of encouraging others, helping those who are less fortunate and always having a positive outlook on life.  My glass is definitely half full instead of half empty.

Every once in a while I find myself in a cloud of dismay when it comes to love.  I’m talking about romantic love, partnership love…lifetime love. This type of love eludes me for some reason. I can’t seem to grasp it and hold onto it.  The only thing worse than this is to be in a bad relationship and not able to get out for one reason or another.

Others say that I need to love myself first before I can find lasting love…Well, I DO love myself.  They say I should learn to be happy with my life as it is before I find “the one.”  The fact is…I AM happy with my life the way it is. I just think it would be the icing on the cake if I had someone to share my life with.

In every relationship that ends someone gets hurt.  Their heart is shattered and scarred. I am fresh out of a two-year relationship where I believed it was the real thing. I was floored when it ended.

.

.

Now…It is Valentines day. 

A day where lovers appreciate one another. They celebrate their happiness. They remember why they are together.

I feel like an outsider during this holiday.  Please don’t misunderstand me, I’m sincerely  happy for everyone who has found someone to trust, love and  share your life with. Congratulations to all of you.

But today, on Valentines day…I don’t feel strong, positive or encouraging. I feel alone.  I miss what I thought was a great relationship…I thought we were happy.  Guess I thought wrong…again.

Valentines day is just another day and it will soon be over. Even though the day will pass, my desire to have that one true love will continue to exist.

So for all of the single guys and gals out there…it’s ok, lets treat ourselves to a day of self-indulgence.  We deserve it!

So pardon me if you will, while I just drown in a pool of self-pity… I will soon be back to my normal, happy and positive self in a few hours.

Happy Valentines day everyone!

Sherry L. Cook

http://sherrylcook.com

One comment on “The Cynical Valentine

  1. diannegray
    February 14, 2014

    You’re not an outsider on this day, Sherry. Sending you big hugs xxxx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2014 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

