New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

I’m Not a Writer, But…

That’s right… How did you guess?   It’s true, I’m NOT a professional writer.

I never claimed to be nor would I ever want to be pressured to write anything.  That would take all the fun out of it.

I write for the pure enjoyment of it.  You may find grammatical mistakes and wonder what in the world am I thinking?  I’ve been known to ramble on sometimes and never really get my point across.  Some call it the “gift of gab.”

My English teachers from my old school days would shudder to think I may be writing a blog or dare say…a book?

My book is so close to being completed now that I wonder how I should feel knowing that my friends and family will soon learn my life story and deepest thoughts.   It feels like going out in public in your underwear.   Geez, I better go buy some pretty underclothes fast!

I got my proof copy in the mail the other day of my finished but not finished book.  I knew what it was when I opened the mailbox.

book package

My heart skipped a beat when I saw this.   Forty years in the thinking stage and five years in the making stage and FINALLY, the first copy is in my hand.  Well, OK…it’s a proof copy but still…  it’s in the form of a book!

 

I tore the package open and saw myself looking back at me.  Maybe I shouldn’t have put my picture on the front cover…  I’ll be  staring at everyone as they look at it.  Maybe I can add subliminal messages through my photo that say “If you read this book, I’ll tell you a little secret…”

book in hands

 

All jokes aside, I am thrilled to be so close to the finish line on this bucket list item.  Just a few more commas and quick little changes and I will be ordering the first bundle.  They will be available through me of course, Amazon and Kindle.

I am now a  Writer!  or am I?

 

http://sherrylcook.com  – My personal website

NewVisionsart - My Etsy store

www.facebook.com/NewVisionsSpecialArt. – facebook page

A Blind eyes View | Seeing things a little differently – newest website devoted to my book and eye care. 

 

 

3 comments on “I’m Not a Writer, But…

  1. Kara Frederick
    June 5, 2014

    So HAPPY for you Ms. Sherry!! I think it is an ahh-MAZING accomplishment. I will definitely be buying a copy. I wish you all the best of luck with the book and life!! I have to say, this is something I never expected to see from you, but wow I’m very inspired by your motivation and putting yourself out there. You took a leap and did something you always wanted to do. Not many people can say that. I love your paintings as well! Happy book selling! You go girl! Miss you! You keep taking life by the horns!

  2. Gloria Woda
    June 5, 2014

    I can’t wait to order one, and I am so glad that Britain and I was just in a small part of your life for a while. What an awesome bucket list item to be finishing. Love you Sherry!!!!

    • sherrylcook
      June 5, 2014

      Thank you Gloria….Y’all were more than a small part, the dance studio was my life for years and I will always remember you and Britain laughing, joking and making some very tense moments bearable….love you guys!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

