New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Can’t Stand Me, Or Can I?

This post was written in response to the daily post prompt:

Can’t Stand Me

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?
 
 

I have a background in theater, dance and speech. 

But this doesn’t mean that I don’t cringe every-time I see myself doing these things.  I live in the deep south and have a heavy southern drawl, just when I think I’ve disguised it, I hear it on audio and I have to laugh at myself….southern and proud of it.  I am definitely my own worst critic.  Which can be good  because everything you hear is uphill from there.

public speaking

 

(This is me while giving a speech in my local toastmasters club. )

 

 

 

 

If you don’t put yourself “out there”, you will never get anywhere. 

Every-time I see a photo of myself, especially an old one, I think…wow, I sure looked skinny there, or my hair looked good there…and then 10 years later I see a pic of me when I said that, and again…wow…sure was thinner back then…lol    Life is a progression…we slowly transform every decade of our lives.

When I was young

I was very shy, sometimes going through the entire day without saying a word except to answer a question from an adult.  It was like a game to me.  Other than my natural DNA, my shyness could be attributed to being born with a birth defect called congenital coloboma which affects the eyes.  I have low vision and several other issues including a physical abnormality.  My right eye looked swollen and the pupil was distorted and cloudy.

I was forced to answer questions, explain myself to everyone, listen to comments and endure stares for fifty years.

I learned. something..

Somewhere between the ages of 12 and 16, I realized that if I didn’t accept the way I was born then I would become a victim my entire life.  So I put on my big girl panties and started living my life the way I wanted too.   I still had to endure the comments, stares and everything that goes with being “different.”   I never let it stop me from doing most of what I wanted to do.

Looking back at pictures and videos of myself is a reminder...

Three years ago, at the age of fifty years old, I had the opportunity to undergo a transformation.  I had three surgeries and received an artificial eye.  The skill of the surgeon and ocularist were the result of two perfect looking eyes.   No one can tell which eye is not the real one.  In the blink of an eye (pardon the pun) no one stared, no one made a rude comment and no more questions.

So the answer for me is YES….I love to look back. It reminds me to be grateful, to live my fullest potential everyday and not worry one ounce about what other people think!

 

Sherry L. Cook

http://sherrylcook.com  

 

Below is a few of my fellow bloggers that have written on this same subject line…feel free to read them as well…

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Can’t Stand Me, Or Can I?

  1. Pingback: Hear Me Roar | TyroCharm

  2. Annie Jadin
    July 10, 2014

    You go, girl! :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 10, 2014 by in About Me, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

