New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Just a lot of ballyhoo

I’ve never been one to feel comfortable accepting gratification for anything.  I get all nervous and don’t exactly know how to handle it.  Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m very comfortable being in front of people. I’ve owned a dance studio for years and I make speeches all the time in toastmasters.  My past includes theater and acting.  But…being recognized individually for something is quite different from speaking in front of an audience. Last week I had a book release party, celebrating the fact that I actually finished it.  I’m not a professional writer but my gut instinct has told me to write this book since I was a child….so I did.   I didn’t want to seem like I was pushing the book on people but yet, I know I need to advertise to get people to read it.

 

How do I do this without people thinking I’m vain?

 

I am certainly not vain…just excited about life and my second chance at everything.

 

book signing 1                               Me and a friend at the book release party

 

 

book sign2                                                Another friend at the party

 

My close friends know that I’m not a vain person…They know what I’ve been through.  It’s the people at a distance…should I worry about this or just let it go?   Do I advertise or keep quiet?

The release party was great, it was held at a local restaurant in a party room.  I had a DJ (thank you Sonya) and several people came out to visit and purchase a book.  It wasn’t a big crowd because it was the 4th of July weekend and many people said they were out-of-town. Being as I’ve never been to a book release party, I didn’t know what to expect.  I thought it went great!  Afterwards a group of us went upstairs to enjoy a great seafood dinner.

book sign 3

 

I am a giver by nature, I feel uncomfortable receiving.  I love chatting with friends and enjoying company.  I love to give speeches and don’t have a problem breaking it out on a dance floor.

Now I wait…wait to sell a million copies of my book, then I may do the ballyhoo boogie!

 

purchase my book at     sherrylcook.com

or  Amazon

A Blind Eye's View: Seeing Things a Little Differently

A Blind Eye's View: Seeing Things a Little Differently

Buy from Amazon

 

2 comments on “Just a lot of ballyhoo

  1. Vera Bridger
    July 14, 2014

    congrats; be proud (that;s not being vain) and advertise so you can share;share;share

  2. diannegray
    July 14, 2014

    I love book launches, Sherry. It looks like yours was a great success :D

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

