New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Laughing out loud

Making others laugh?

I don’t even have to try.  It’s a natural ability I was born with…I am clumsy to say the least and add that with being very nearsighted (almost legally blind) and you are guaranteed to laugh your cazoosels off at my shenanigans.

No matter how hard I try to be serious, things seem to turn humorous. for example when I misjudge the height of a step or reach out to grab something.  My depth perception is not very admirable.  I’ve even made up a word for a body movement that happens when you are walking and suddenly come upon a sidewalk step that is either higher or lower than you think it is.

Imagine stepping down off of a curb and in your mind you prejudge that it is about 4 or 5 inches, then you take that step and find that in reality it is more like 7 or 8 inches deep. Your body tries to compensate in mid-flight to avoid a dreaded fall on the concrete below.  During this split second compensation your body does this weird movement that I have named…disconjoltulate.  I even wrote a post about it some time ago. You can read about it here…http://wp.me/p2dM7J-wR

 

goofy falling

being near-sighted can be loads of fun. You have to gain a sense of humor when you can’t read signs until you are right up on them.   How can you  read a menu when they place them up so high by the ceiling in a print that a hawk  can’t even see.  I love to go up to the counter and order a rib-eye steak at a McDonald’s restaurant.  I always complain that they need to let us “blind” people “see” a menu.  The look on their faces is priceless, especially when I am “driving” through a drive through and tell them I can’t “see” the menu.

Ah  yes… I have been given an ability to laugh at my disability.  Make lemonade out of lemons….that’s what I say.

 

http://sherrylcook.com

 

This post was written in response to the prompt below… a very fun prompt!

A misused word, a misremembered song lyric, a cream pie that just happened to be there: tell us about a time you (or someone else) said or did something unintentionally funny.

Uncanned Laughter

One comment on “Laughing out loud

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Uncanned Laughter – Smitty Boats | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

