New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Gut feelings

     Someone might say, “I have a gut instinct”, or ” I just have a feeling”.  Maybe you hear a voice speaking softly in your head, Is it your subconscious speaking to you?  When you are in a moment that seems like you are frozen in time but your mind continues to race with thoughts and ramblings. All of these is your “gut” speaking to you.   As I grow older in life, I tend to hear these small murmurings more and more.  I find through trial and error that most of the time, these instincts are usually right. It’s what I should have done, or said but maybe my wants and temporary madness just turns its back and refuses to believe.  But after all is said and done, my gut instinct is usually right on, again and again.

     What is this piece of wisdom intellect that continues to try to keep us out of trouble?  Is it wisdom that we have learned but have filed it deep within the cobwebs of our minds only to come out in tidbits of whispers in nano seconds?   Or, maybe its something more magnificent like God speaking to us and hopefully  we will hear and understand?  Could it be that our brains or so intellectually complicated that we only get this wisdom in great time of need?   Whatever it is…..I have learned to really listen…..I mean really really listen!   

     Sometimes my heart wants something so bad that I will quickly push my “gut feeling” to the side, not wanting to hear the real truth. Maybe my analytical mind tries to reason with the situation and I will take the scientific way out, making sure I’ve worked out all the pros and cons….   But alas!  time and time again, my dependable gut feeling is always there saying ” I told you so” or ” you should have listened to me”.

The point I’m trying to make here is this, if we would just listen to our inner beings more, be more aware of what our minds and bodies are saying to us, we may save ourselves from a lot of pain and anguish.  In this fast paced world we live in now, nothing is more important than to slow down, listen, feel and heed what our inner voice knows that we need. 

  Quote:

“It is always with excitement that I wake up in the morning wondering what my intuition will toss up to me, like gifts from the sea. I work with it and rely on it. It’s my partner.”
Dr. Jonas Salk

for more on this subject ,

Learn how to use your intuition

4 comments on “Gut feelings

  1. Pingback: Defusing arguments | New Visions

  2. Pingback: elctectic

  3. Cauldrons and Cupcakes
    February 21, 2012

    Such sound advice for our fast-paced world. I hope you keep listening to that inner guidance. It has never steered me wrong! Bless xx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2012 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , .
