New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

A funny thing happened….

When you live in a monocular world (monocular means vision in only one eye) , you must have a sense of humor. Believe me when I say it will work in your favor. You can’t take things to seriously because you will find yourself in the middle of strange and unpredictable circumstances.

For me especially….it can get quite interesting because I am near-sighted in the one and only eye I do have.

Embarrassing moments seem to follow me around continuously. For example, when I read or work on the computer, I usually have to position myself very close to the book or screen, even if I have the larger print. My co workers say it looks as though I’m getting ready to jump in the monitor!

There have been several occasions when I’ve found myself walking up to people thinking it was someone I knew, only to find out it’s a complete stranger instead. (you should hear me talk myself out of that one!).

Then there are the many steps or street curbs that I’ve tripped on, thinking that they are actually closer or farther than it looked. This results in a wild jerky body movement that I have named the ” monocular dance”.

Countless corners, handrails and objects have been brutalized by my not having the depth perception to judge distances well. Most would say I am clumsy but in reality, I just didn’t figure the distance correctly.

I’ve had an artificial eye for almost a year now and that alone has caused a few funny situations. People will ask me the darndest things like, “Can you see out of that eye”? Come on folks….really?

I could definitely play some jokes on others also, like coughing or sneezing and taking the eye out and scaring everyone to death. I bet I could play some really cool jokes on people during Halloween too.

I don’t take the artificial out very much, still makes me a bit squeamish. I love it though, it looks so much better than my “old” eye.

Driving has always been a hoot for me in the past. I do have my driver’s license. I’m so nearsighted that I can’t see the signs with the street names until I have passed them and please don’t ask me to find the correct house number! I wish I had a dollar for every time I have had to turn around.

Technology has been good to me, I currently have a navigator that tells me exactly where I am and what house to stop at.

Let me hear from you dear readers……..What has been your most embarrassing moment? This could get quite interesting.

Laugh while you can, life is short, don’t sweat the small stuff!!!!!

4 comments on “A funny thing happened….

  1. Cauldrons and Cupcakes
    March 9, 2012

    I have had so many embarrassing moments that I forget the older ones… Luckily I have family and friends to remind me! đŸ˜‰

    • sherrylcook
      March 9, 2012

      Ahhhhh, what would we do without our friends and family? Keeping us humble.

  2. sherrylcook
    March 9, 2012

    Transparentguy…..I can relate to that statement!!!!!

  3. transparentguy
    March 9, 2012

    My embarrassing moments are not fit for print.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 9, 2012 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , .
