New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

To do or not to do, that is the question.

Procrastination –  to put off habitually the doing of something that should be done.

procrastination cartoons, procrastination cartoon, procrastination picture, procrastination pictures, procrastination image, procrastination images, procrastination illustration, procrastination illustrations

This could end up being a very intense subject for some so I will speak only of my own shortcomings in this area.   I seem to procrastinate more than I would like to admit.   I have so many things that I intend to do,  yet I keep putting them off day after day and  week after week.    Eventually I just forget about it, after time goes by I may stumble across that thing I was going to do.  I will re-insert it into my mental filing cabinet only to start the whole process again.

Why do I do this?    Is it because I am  not organized enough?   I don’t think that’s  it because there are some areas that I have it all together. 

Is it lack of time?    it could be,  I am very busy…. but I seem to find  the time to do the things I “want” to do.

I have a mental list of things I need to do such as cleaning out drawers, re organizing the store-room, painting the window sills, getting rid of things I never use anymore and the list goes on and on. 

Maybe I need to set some goals.  Make a real list and go down one by one and just do it.  Maybe I should set aside a certain time only for the things on that list.  But what if someone asks me if I want to go somewhere fun instead?  Do I turn down the fun opportunity to do my dull never-ending “To do” list?    ahhhhhh, this is so hard!

I can set goals and I can achieve them.  I achieved a huge goal just today….. I’ve been trying to lose weight for the past 10 months and today I finally made my goal weight.   It was a long journey and a lot of  standing on the scales and exercising but I did it.  If you are REALLY determined to do something, just do it. 

So in retrospect, maybe I’m not determined enough to do those little things that I intend to do but never get around to doing.  Maybe after writing this post I will get motivated to actually start crossing some of those things off my list, one by one.

So dear readers, I’ve talked myself right around this subject with no clear answers.  If  you have any new and refreshing ideas to share, feel free to do so.   I’m not promising any results but it couldn’t hurt.

Oh well, as scarlet O Hara would say in Gone with the Wind.  ” I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow”.

 

2 comments on “To do or not to do, that is the question.

  1. nikky44
    March 15, 2012

    he more I think I should lose weight, the more I EAT!!!!!

    • sherrylcook
      March 15, 2012

      I know how you feel nikky, I’ve gone through so many cycles of dieting and giving up, but I found for me if I exercise it really helps, then once you see a touch of weight loss, it inspires me to lose more…..good luck!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
