New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Setting Goals

I wrote a blog the other day about procrastination.  see  To do or not to do, that is the question.

Today I am beginning a new endeavor.   I am setting some goals for myself and even put a timeline on it,  I will force myself to continue with it.   I am guilty of putting some things off that I really want to do.   Taking steps that are necessary to achieve a goal can be scary and unsettling but in order to get to that final achievement, you have to take the chance.  I don’t want to regret not trying. So here it is, today is the first day of the rest of my life! 

All my life (even as a young child) I have wanted to write my memoirs.  My only goal at the time was to  just write down my experiences so my family could understand the way I felt growing up, especially my children.  Now, over the past several years I’ve come to realize that there may be some other people who might benefit from it.   It’s my personal goal to do this and even if I have to self publish it, then so be it.  

For three and a half years I’ve been slowly writing chapter after chapter.  There were times when I would set it down and not pick it back up for six months.   I’m near completion now and I intend on finishing it this month.   Please understand that I am not a “professional” writer.  I just write from the heart.  My grammar and sentence structure probably needs a lot of attention. 

 

I am telling my life story of growing up with a birth defect called “congenital coloboma” . I was blind in  my right eye and it was  shaped differently than the left. It was very noticeable and the pupil was distorted.  It was much larger as if it were swollen. I lived with constant humbling experiences that I dealt with in many different ways.   But alas!  The story ends well….. and the lessons learned along the way have been priceless.

Because I have a tendency to put things off, setting goals and milestones along the way leading up to the goal is important. It will keep me on track .

Having my book published is not my only goal, I have several more.  I want to increase my time painting on canvas and honing my skills.  I want to prepare to get away from my current mundane job for something more creative and lucrative.  I want to spend quality time pursuing the important relationships in my life and enjoying the simple things in life.

Do you have goals?

Have you set a timeline?

Make a plan and set milestones to achieve your end result.

Make little rewards for yourself when you achieve each milestone.

Don’t be afraid to step out into uncharted territory. 

Find a support system to call on when you feel defeated such as friends, family or close mentor. 

Remember…..This is YOUR life, make it happen and don’t look back with any regrets.

4 comments on “Setting Goals

  1. nikky44
    March 16, 2012

    I don’t have any goal, and I know its bad. I only have dreams, and I hope i would see at least one come true.

    • sherrylcook
      March 16, 2012

      Nikky, that is a great point! dreams and goals are basically the same, like desires and hopes. You can have a dream of accomplishing something, but I think when you turn it into a goal, with a set timeframe and a plan for getting there you might be more inclined to work harder. It all basically is a dream but I can only speak for myself when I say I have to have a plan to follow through, it’s part of my analytical thinking!

  2. kas1017
    March 16, 2012

    very good post. Congrats on reaching your weight loss goal. You should be so proud! 😉
    You have me inpsired about publishing a mommy memoir that I wrote years ago.
    ready, set, go-al! 😉

    • sherrylcook
      March 16, 2012

      Thank you ! I am glad you are inspired! Sometimes I need a kick in the behind to get me going…. Hopefully your memoirs will be published! Let’s get em!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2012 by in About Me and tagged , , , , , , , .
