New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Hourglass of sand

As my feet sink into the soft white sand, I look around slowly trying to take in the beauty that I’m seeing. As far as I can see is the deep blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. I smell the salt in the air and the warm gulf breeze surrounding me. The little voice in my head is telling me “Reminds me of my childhood”. The smells and sounds of Dauphin Island will always be a part of me.

(West end of Dauphin Island, Al.)

Feeling the sun warming on my shoulders and arms I feel so relaxed just being. Walking along the shore where the water meets the sand, I can feel the warm water around my feet and ankles as the water rises and recedes. Seashells are scattered along the beach, different colors of beige, brown, white, orange, each beautiful, each different.

” I love this place”. Quiet, small, non touristy, mostly local residents visit here. Seagulls glide closely overhead squawking loudly looking for food. Sometimes there will be hundreds of seagulls flying in groups begging for something to eat. In my mind, I can remember all of the memories I have acquired on this island over the years. Camping, swimming, bicycling and deep sea fishing in my dad’s boat. Every weekend for years catching fish and getting sunburned.

As my mind jumps back into the present….I’m relieved to see that I am still on the beach looking out over the vast openness of the ocean. There’s something soothing about the freshness, the water rolling in and out with each wave, the breeze in your face. I am able to see for miles in the distance where the water touches the sky.

(Picture taken on Dauphin Island, Alabama)

Walking back to my car I try to shake off sand from between my toes, wishing I could stay a bit longer. This place rejuvenate’s me, does my mind good to indulge into something that calms the inner soul. While I am sad to leave, I know all I have to do is close my eyes and imagine myself there again, the smells of the sea and the sounds of the waves.

2 comments on “Hourglass of sand

  1. nikky44
    March 26, 2012

    I would so much love now to sit alone in a peaceful place like that 😦

    • sherrylcook
      March 26, 2012

      One day maybe you will…..just close your eyes and imagine it. sending you hugs and prayers!
      Sherry

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , .
