New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Person centered plan

I wrote a post a while ago about  Setting Goals    Sometimes it can be difficult to set goals for yourself, especially if you are not sure what they should be.   Other than writing posts for my blog, my day job focus’s  on supporting people with mental and physical challenges.  My particular job for many years was titled “Program Support”.   I had a caseload of approximately thirty people.   I planned meetings, met with care providers and psychologists.  We would meet and implement a plan for each individual.  Each plan would include long-term and short-term goals.  What I’m showing below is the guideline we would follow to “get to know” and understand each individuals needs and desires.

This might be a good mental exercise for us to follow as well, to help us understand more clearly what our goals really are.  

Answer the questions below, pertaining to your life.

My Self……

 

Do I have a Natural Support network?   family members that give  emotional support

Intimate relationships?    (Spouse, close family, possible close friends. Could even be their spirituality)

Do I feel safe, am I treated fairly?

What are my health issues and how does it affect me?

My World……

Pros and Cons of current work environment  

Do I have security and continuity?

goals already achieved  

What social roles do I fill?   (list all)   Mother, family member, church member, employee, etc.

 

My Dreams…..

What are my goals?   (large and small)

Who are my friends?

 

My Path….

After looking over your answers above, find the areas that need support.  Use this as a guide to determining what your goals are.  

One Year Goals –

Six Month Goals –

Three month goals –

Think realistically in determining what your smaller goals will be in order to get you closer to the ultimate goal.   Use rewards for each milestone accomplished.  Remember to update your answers to the questions in the plan,  life situations change and your answers will as well. 

This is just a guideline, use it  to fit your needs individually. 

No matter how much planning we do, there will always be things that tend to change, be ready for whatever changes occur and deal with them with a balanced mind.  Use your inner guidance to lead you. 

Happy day to all!!!!!!

5 comments on “Person centered plan

  1. Pingback: Focus, Focus, Focus!!! | CreateWhatYouWant

    • sherrylcook
      March 28, 2012

      Very good site, I look forward to reading more posts.

  2. nikky44
    March 27, 2012

    I loved this post. I could never set a goal for myself, never. Even if I want to, I just can’t even decide where i would like to go the next day or what i am going to eat in an hour of time. I really live each minute at a time. I have a “frame like going to work and getting up in the morning, but that’s it.
    A support network? I have no one, just my online friends, just them, and after the incident I wrote about on Sunday, I realized how important the bloggers community is for me. Their support gave me a lot.

    • sherrylcook
      March 27, 2012

      Everyone needs some kind of support network…..and if yours is the blogging community, then ok! That is a start…. A close friend that you trust, etc. Take small baby steps into just “thinking” about what your goals might be, then little by little, start working towards them. Don’t put pressure on yourself, it’s all part of growing and learning !

      Sent from my iPhone

      • nikky44
        March 28, 2012

        trying to do that 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , .
