New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently



Reflection –  The act of reflecting or the state of being reflected…a fixing of the thoughts on something; careful consideration..A thought occurring in consideration or meditation.

 They say there is a time for everything…..

Ecclesiastes 3:4 – A time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance.  


Reflecting on your own life can be many things.  It can bring you feelings of accomplishment, pride, humility, sorrow or excitement.  Most of the time, we go through our normal days looking ahead, planning and building our futures. Plans are a good thing, we should strive for what we want in life and have goals set in place.  Be careful not to set those goals in concrete because they may very well change in a seconds notice.

I’ve done a lot of reflecting lately, just sitting and thinking, my mind just twirling around thoughts and feelings like a cyclone in my brain.  It’s funny how we usually take the time for reflection after a major event in our lives.  It usually takes something immense  to set those wheels into motion. Those thoughts and feelings need to find their resting place, sort of like its own “comfort zone” so you can live amicably with those feelings.  ( good and bad feelings )

I’ve lost three people who were a part of my life in the last two weeks.  One was a classmate from years ago that maybe I was not real close to, but she has a place in my heart from those days of long ago. Another was an unexpected passing of a friend that I shared both good and bad times with and lastly, a very close friend of mine for the past forty years.  

I will miss my close friend forever but I feel as though I’ve put my feelings surrounding all of this into their resting places. I have learned valuable lessons from each relationship and I am now ready to forge ahead into my future. 

Reflection is a positive thing.  You work everything out in your head and soul.

The seven stages of grief are :

1. Shock and denial,  2. Pain and guilt, 3. anger and bargaining, 4. reflection and loneliness, 5. The upward turn, 6. working through  7. acceptance and hope.  visit this link for more information concerning the seven stages of grief



 It’s all part of the circle of life.  We may never understand why certain things happen the way they do but eventually we get back up, we continue on and we learn to appreciate again.

So….my thought for today is, live for each day, hour and minute.  Do not spend precious time on wishing your life away with thoughts such as :  I wish it was the weekend, or next month is my vacation and I wish I was past this, and into this….  (these are just examples).  

 Make the most of this day and this moment because you never know what may be right around the corner.


2 comments on “Reflections

  1. sherrylcook
    April 2, 2012

    Life brings each of us trials and tribulations….some, more than others. I often ask myself…why do some people have so much pain, while others do not? I don’t have all the answers and don’t pretend to….just know that people care and good will prevail over evil.

  2. nikky44
    April 2, 2012

    You are right, although it’s not that easy. Sometimes living is the source of pain

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on April 2, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , .
%d bloggers like this: