New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Clogging, It’s not what you think…..

Hello readers! 

 today I am going to enlighten you into the world of dance!   Dance is the most wonderful form of expression, moving with your entire body to tell a story, express an emotion or just “get down on it” 

Dance is a funny thing……just take a look the next time you are out in public and you see people out on the floor getting their groove on.    Everyone has their own rhythm  (hopefully synchronized with the music) and their own individual style.   It is an expression of happiness.   I can only speak for myself when I say dancing is letting go of all your worries and just having fun!

There are all different types of dance, some have deep history’s and some are brand new.  A few you may have heard before such as; ballet, jazz, tap, lyrical, hip-hop, square dancing, swing, country and western, ballroom and the list goes on and on. 

The subject today is “Clogging”.     now, now…..wait a moment please…..I’m not talking about the clog in your kitchen sink.   I’m also not talking about wearing those big clog shoes.    

So what is clogging?  well, the dictionary has several definitions, this one is the closest I could find.   a traditional type of percussive folk dance which is common in the Appalachian Region of the United States, associated with the predecessor to bluegrass – old-time music which is based on Irish and Scots-Irish fiddle tunes.

My definition of clogging is :  A percussive dance done with double taps attached to the bottom of the shoes, timed perfectly with the music using intricate footwork to create an exciting sound and movement.

“Modern Clog dancing”  as I like to call it,  is fast, furious and fun!   All levels and all ages can enjoy the magic of Clogging.   I owned and operated the One Step Ahead Clogging studio in Mobile, Al.  for seventeen years teaching young and old alike the newer more advanced clogging that we enjoy today.  We performed all over the southeast for shows, festivals and competitions.  

I take pride in the fact that my studio was very different from your average dance studio.  We were all one big family, enjoying each other and learning a valuable dance form.   After my decision to retire from teaching, choreographing and performing, my daughter re-opened the One Step Ahead studio and is currently following in my footsteps.   I am proud that I was able to give her something that she can use and continue to love as much as I did.

Through clogging I met some wonderful people who turned into close friends for life and I was able to raise  both of my daughters doing something active and fun.   When you watch the video below, keep in mind that every little step has a name and each routine is different.  This video is a great example of what we did. If you like what you see, find a clogging class somewhere near you,  you will be glad you did!!!

clogging demo 2006

Just as the lyrics  say in a song by Lee Ann Womack

 ” and when you get the choice to sit it out or dance,           

                    I HOPE YOU DANCE”

One comment on “Clogging, It’s not what you think…..

  1. nikky44
    April 4, 2012

    Dancing is one of the best way to express one’s feeling!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2012 by in About Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
