New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Weight loss, will it work this time?

Statistics say that millions of Americans are overweight.  Our eating habits have gotten out of control and obesity is common in our children as well.  What happened?  Is it laziness?   Eating in front of the television, cooking foods high in fat content and less exercise may be the major reason.  Along with higher technology, i.e.  remote controls, computers and video games, we don’t get up and move as much as we should.

When I was young, back in the sixties and seventies, we were always busy.  we didn’t have much time to just sit and watch television and there were no computer games.  I live in the deep south region of the United States and we are known for our fine southern food, usually deep-fried chicken or shrimp.   Fast food restaurants don’t help matters any, it is so convenient to just ride through and pick up dinner for the kiddos and be done with it.

For me personally, I never had much of a weight problem, I have been active most of my life.  I was involved with sports in high school, opened a dance studio and ran it for seventeen years, taught countless aerobics classes and always tried to stay fit and healthy.

One problem always got in the way, I LOVE to eat!   I have always had a ravenous appetite.  I could eat more than most of my friends anytime.   I have a muscular build and my weight is usually heavier than what most people would guess.

When I closed the dance studio, the only job I had, was a sit down behind a desk kind of job.  My exercise just stopped.   I had been through a difficult divorce and the weight just crept up on me like a thief in the night.   a few years later, I was heavier than I had ever been.   I was not obese, just heavier.

I have tried every diet imaginable, some would work a little and some, not at all.   One thing is for certain, I would always gain the few pounds I lost back again in a short time frame.  As I look back over the years of dieting and trying to lose, there is one common element that always showed results…..exercise.   As much as I wish I could tell you that you can lose weight without exercise, for me…..it just isn’t the case.

Over the last nine months I have lost thirty-eight pounds.  I intend to keep it off this time.  I’ve lost it slow, methodically and realistically.   Considering I was not terribly overweight to begin with, now that I have lost the poundage, my overall health has improved drastically.  I no longer have heartburn and acid reflux, I sleep better and have much more energy.

The question is…..why did the diet work this time and it didn’t before?   for me personally…..it was my mindset.  You HAVE to be mentally ready to stick to the program.  You have to really WANT it, more than you want the food.  (It helps if your personal life is in a healthy state also).  If you go into a diet halfway, it’s never going to work.   You must exercise!

It helps if you can find active things that you love to do…….whatever it may be, taking walks, swimming, tennis, bowling, anything.   For me, I have re-found the joy of riding a bicycle.  My boyfriend and I ride all over the place.  It is a pure source of enjoyment while burning calories!

When you must go to the store, park way out in the parking lot so you can walk…..don’t ride around for an extra ten minutes looking for a place up front and take the stairs whenever possible.   It all  boils down to this……burn more calories than you take in.  It’s just that simple.  Surround yourself with others who eat healthy and will keep you motivated, and most of all….don’t starve yourself, you will only feel bad and then quit your weight loss program.   Go ahead and eat that food that you are craving, just go back to the program when you are done.   Your results will be your motivation!

 

A healthy body is part of the path to a healthy mental state of mind.  It all works together for the peaceful harmony of your well-being.   be healthy as you can be!       Go for it!

6 comments on “Weight loss, will it work this time?

  1. Nova Amiko
    April 11, 2012

    My mindset is very much focused on pies right now… which is a shame as I need to lose some weight. You’re right though – regular exercise is going to get me back in trim. There aren’t any quick fixes are there ?!?! Thanks for the great article.

    • sherrylcook
      April 11, 2012

      Thank you for the comment….no quick fixes for sure, guess that is true for anything worth fighting for!

  2. Moonbeam McQueen
    April 11, 2012

    I agree with you. I lost weight when my motto became, “Move more than you consume.” Boy, did I move! It became addictive. And it’s so weird, when I was really walking and bike riding, it really didn’t matter how much I ate, things stayed at a nice, break even point.

    I’ve had a foot injury for the past few months that’s kept me from walking, and it’s depressing. I’m not moving, and I’m not breaking even any more. Two or three pounds makes a big difference when you’re a shrimp. Can’t wait to get back to it!

  3. nikky44
    April 10, 2012

    Although I know you are right, I can’t exercise. I love to eat, but if I need to walk 50 meters to get food, I would prefer to stay hungry.
    I have gained in the last 3 years almost 40 kilos. It started when I started taking antidepressants.

    • sherrylcook
      April 10, 2012

      antidepressants can cause some weight gain and make you feel lethargic at times. I recommend you start small…..find anything that brings you some enjoyment. figure out what time of the day you have the most energy and use that for a small activity. No need to conquer the world in one day. Give yourself a pat on the back for trying…. (hugs)

      • nikky44
        April 10, 2012

        I need to try. I need first to find some motivation. Thank you Sherryl!<3 ❤

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2012 by in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , .
