New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

I’m drinking from my saucer

Many of you have probably read this poem already, I stumbled on it yesterday and it spoke to me so I am passing it along to you today in hopes that it will speak to you also.

 

I’m drinking from my saucer  

  Author Unknown

 

I’ve never made a fortune,
And it’s probably too late now.
But I don’t worry about that much,
I’m happy anyhow

And I go along life’s way,
I’m reaping better than I sowed.
I’m drinking from my saucer,
‘Cause my cup has overflowed.

Haven’t got a lot of riches,
And sometimes the going’s tough
But I’ve got loving ones all around me,
And that makes me rich enough.

I thank God for his blessings,
And the mercies He’s bestowed.
I’m drinking from my saucer,
‘Cause my cup has overflowed.

I remember times when things went wrong,
My faith wore somewhat thin.
But all at once the dark clouds broke,
And the sun peeped through again.

So Lord, help me not to gripe,
About the tough rows I have hoed.
I’m drinking from my saucer,
‘Cause my cup has overflowed.

If God gives me strength and courage,
When the way grows steep and rough.
I’ll not ask for other blessings,
I’m already blessed enough.

And may I never be too busy,
To help others bear their loads.
Then I’ll keep drinking from my saucer,
‘Cause my cup has overflowed.

When I think of how many people in this world have it worse
Than I do, I realize just how blessed we really are.

Don’t be too busy today…

One comment on “I’m drinking from my saucer

  1. nikky44
    April 19, 2012

    Thank you for sharing this poem. I was thinking yesterday wondering why people are always too busy to listen when I need them, when they expect you to be always free when they need you? Just a thought 😦 It is sad sometimes, but I have learned not to expect anything, but just to give.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , .
