New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

My personal weight loss journey

I’ve lost thirty-nine pounds in the last eleven months.  Its been slow and meticulous, pound by pound.  A year ago when I REALLY made up my mind to do this, most people didn’t really think I needed to lose any weight.  If I divulged to them my actual weight they were usually shocked. 

  I”ve always been pretty active my entire life.  sports in high school, owning and operating a dance studio for seventeen years, even taught physical education for a few years in a nearby Catholic school.  I taught aerobics for years in local fitness centers when it was all the rage.  I have big strong bones and my height is 5’6.   I am blessed to be able to hide excess weight because of my muscular build.  

After I closed the dance studio, I got a job behind a desk.  I had gone through some personal letdowns and needed the change.  I slowly gained a few pounds and got a little lazy.  I was experiencing heartburn alot and just felt sluggish all the time.  I would try to lose at times but it never seemed to work. I had an appetite of a horse and just wasnt motivated enough to make it work.

This time, I made it work.   My personal life has improved and I was committed.   I wanted to share with you what worked for me.  It may not be the ticket you need to lose and keep it off because I think we all have to find what works for us.   hopefully it will help some of you that just need a little motivation to keep going.  

I found there are three main ingredients that we must all follow ( with variations of course).

1. MINDSET –  You must be ready to lose and willing to do the work to lose it.   This cannot be just a passing whim and you would like to “try” to lose weight.  You have to DO IT!  Mindset is most of the battle, if you  have the right frame of mind to do this then you are already there.   Never give up, never go back to the old habits and find ways to inspire yourself when you are down.  If you get off track, jump right back in there and do it again.   YOU CAN DO THIS!

2. EXERCISE–  Move your body!!!!  it doesn’t matter if you are five pounds overweight or 200 pounds, at some point you are going to have to move.  Your level of physical fitness will depend on how you should start.  Check with your physician before starting anything strenuous.   Find something that excites you.  If it’s music, then take a dance class, there are some wonderful Zumba or hip-hop dance themed fitness classes out there that I just LOVE.   If you enjoy sports, then just “do it”…..  walking- find a nature trail or open area to walk in and breathe the fresh air, its good for you!   sign up at the gym and get a trainer to help you, go swimming, canoeing or play tennis.  Be creative!  I love to ride my bicycle, I can go for miles and miles and never get bored with it.   Increase your activity level over time.  I promise, you will see a change in your energy and overall health in a short amount of time.    again….MOVE YOUR BODY!!!!

3. FOOD INTAKE –   This seems to be the hardest for most people, including me.  I love to eat and I love bread.   Don’t starve yourself.  allow yourself the food that your body needs to stay healthy.   My boyfriend gave me a bit of advice that I love to share with people, “Eat to live, don’t live to eat.”   I downloaded an app on my iphone called “loseit”, I can log in my food intake everyday, I  set my goal weight and “when” I can realistically achieve it. The app gives me how many calories I can have for each day.  I can also log in my exercise and it calculates how much more I can have.  It gives me the reminders to stay on track.  Eat healthy and let go of the fats and desserts.  If you cave in and eat more than you should, be forgiving of yourself and start over immediately……(see # 1 – stay motivated!)   

It really helps if you have someone you can partner with, hold each other accountable and motivate.  If you don’t have anyone, then do it by yourself, you are worth it and you DESERVE it.  I’m proud to say that I’m finally down to a size 9  after being in a 12 – 14 most of my life.

The point of all of this is….If you want to achieve a balance in your life, mental and physical.  If you are searching for a better life, peace, happiness and self-confidence then this is all part of the whole plan.  I love the quote, 

“Do what you can,

with what you have,

where you are.” 

 

 Theodore Roosevelt Leave a comment on what works for you in your health journey, you never know when someone reading this post may really be able to use your information!     
16 comments on “My personal weight loss journey

  1. Pingback: weight loss blog

  2. Pingback: We are Barbarian….Erggggg ! « sherrylcook

  3. MargoT
    April 27, 2012

    Love the blog!

  4. Abby Rae
    April 26, 2012

    Way to GOOOOO! I’m happy to say I am now no longer “overweight” by the BMI (Body Mass Index) scale! It is such a great feeling and oodles of good things have happened since I started takin’ care of ME! It’s always nice to see other’s journeys on the down the road of Healthy L-I-V-I-N!

    Abby Rae

    • sherrylcook
      April 27, 2012

      Thank you for the follow Abby! Yes, it does feel good to be where you are supposed to be weight wise and isn’t it amazing how when you feel good about yourself, the law of attraction just starts working for you!

  5. Olga
    April 24, 2012

    great post, and great advise. I agree 100% on the exercise front – it boosts energy and spirit. I would be careful about counting calories and exercising a lot at the same time though – you need to be under doctors eye to do that – far too easy to overdo something and make more damage to you body than good.

    I am a type of person who doesn’t really believe in weight apps either. My nutrition therapist did something very cleaver though – she simply told me to fit 7-8 servings of veg a day in my diet! for me it’s worked miracles 😀 (if I got a list of ‘do nots’ I probably wouldn’t have change anything in my eating habits) I also need to be careful not to get lazy about finding new recipes. I love food, and I love trying new things, so for me just having a bit of fun with food is great 😀

    • sherrylcook
      April 24, 2012

      I agree Olga, always always always be under a physicians care while undergoing anything strenuous like this. Thank you for commenting, looking forward to checking out your site!

      • sherrylcook
        April 24, 2012

        Also GREAT advice about the veggies! Thank you!

  6. imabusinessman
    April 23, 2012

    Congrats. I can relate. I was overweight in middle school, but finally managed to grow out of it with a lot of exercise. Definitely took more than one try though.

    • sherrylcook
      April 23, 2012

      Imabusinessman, yes….such a hard thing to do and it takes alot of determination to accomplish it. if at first you don’t succeed, try try again! : )

  7. nikky44
    April 23, 2012

    I guess I’m not ready 😦 not yet 😦

    • sherrylcook
      April 23, 2012

      I know nikky44, there were many times I tried and failed because in my head, I was just not determined enough. too many problems in my personal life were taking up to much of my time…. priority is the key…..for me anyway..
      much love, Sherry

  8. sherrylcook
    April 23, 2012

    I am proud Kas, and I know if I can do it…others can to! you just have to be ready to commit. I have to continue to remind myself that I’m eating to LIVE, not living to eat!

  9. coachcrystalspadawan
    April 23, 2012

    Really great advice!! Thanks. The eating is the hardest part for me, too!

    • sherrylcook
      April 23, 2012

      yes coachcrystals! it is sooooo hard, its important to not let yourself get real hungry because then I say forget the diet!!! I’m eating! lol I try to always nibble on fruits or veggy’s. thank you for commenting and following my blog, can’t wait to check out yours!
      hugs…..Sherry

  10. kas1017
    April 23, 2012

    good for you! you should be SO proud. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2012 by in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , .
