New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Teetering on the edge

Stock Image - two stacks of<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
balenced rocks.<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
fotosearch - search<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
stock photos,<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
pictures, wall<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
murals, images,<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
and photo clipart

 

Have you ever felt like you were on the edge of something big?   Something world-changing in your life  and you are teetering on the threshold wondering which way to go?

 

In one direction is your dream, something you want with all your heart and never thought you would get, but, it’s a chance or prospect.   In the opposite direction is where your reality knows that if you stay  where you are now, it would be safe and secure but boring and maybe you would be settling for less.

 

 At some point in all of our lives we are faced with these type of choices to make.  We weigh the odds and attempt to make the wisest decision.  

 

When we are younger we subconsciously think we will live forever and even if we make the wrong choice there is still plenty of time to re-invent ourselves or start over. 

 

When you are middle-aged or older you tend to think this may be my last chance, it’s either now or never. 

 

But what if you have responsibilities looming over you like a cloud of dust?  You must feed the family or pay that bill.  You can’t move because it just doesn’t make sense or I can’t love again…..I might get hurt. 

A cloud of dust and debris from a controlled detonation of an improvised explosive device rises in Logar Province, Afghanistan, July 27, 2009. [REUTERS/Shamil Zhumatov]

 

Should I stay in that job where I have proven myself over and over again yet I’m not appreciated for what I am worth?   It may be a dead end job but it pays the bills and covers my health insurance.

 

Do I take that leap of faith and jump into something my heart longs for yet not sure if I can make it ?

 

I’ve written posts about Choices  and  Gut feelings.  It all sounds well and good, hopeful and inspirational but if the stakes are high, what do we do?  

 

Answer the following questions honestly,

 

If you stay in that spot where you are at, will you be happy and satisfied? 

will you always wonder, “what if ?”

If you took that leap of faith and followed your heart, but it didn’t work out as planned, would you be able to  pick yourself up and start over?

 

Sooner or later, our lives will come to an end,  that’s a sure thing.  If we are on our last moments in this life, will we be proud of how we lived it or will we regret that we didn’t try?

 

For me personally, I’ve always been the logical thinker, weighing out the pros and cons of every situation, forever playing it safe. 

 Now that I am getting older, I am more willing to think, dream and even calculate ways  to make my desires work.  I’m not going to just jump off the deep end without looking first, but I’m planning my escape into my dreams and the day will come soon that I will take that monumental “plunge.”

 

 

What about you?    Have you ever made that kind of choice?   If so, did you succeed? 

 

 Did you jump without planning and fall flat?  

 

Have you ever followed your heart even when your head was saying  “are you crazy? ” 

 

Have you ever teetered on the edge of something huge and life-changing then backed away to regret forever?

 

7 comments on “Teetering on the edge

  1. frankoshanko
    April 28, 2012

    Awesome Sherryl! Life is complicated, with many considerations, so decisions aren’t as easy as some multiple choices tests! ( : I love your probing questions and inclination towards being the best versions of ourselves. I wonder what the future holds? I know I’m embracing the present with an adventurous approach! Thanks for sharing!

  2. sherrylcook
    April 25, 2012

    Good advice! Thank you!

  3. Cauldrons and Cupcakes
    April 25, 2012

    Life’s too short not to jump. We aren’t here for a dress rehearsal. Regret is an awful lump to have stuck in your throat for ever.

    Great post!!!
    xoxo

    • sherrylcook
      April 25, 2012

      Thank you Nicole, You are so right. You, I and so many others know this but…..it’s a lot easier to say than to do. It takes real courage to follow your dreams.

      • Cauldrons and Cupcakes
        April 25, 2012

        But imagine what life would be like if we didn’t follow them… I think you get the courage BY doing it, not by waiting for the courage to come and then acting! xx

  4. nikky44
    April 25, 2012

    What a GREAT POST!!!!

    Thank you! I have nominated your Blog for the Sunshine Award!
    http://nikkysstrengthandweakness-nikky44.blogspot.com/2012/04/sunshine-award.html

  5. sweetopiagirl
    April 25, 2012

    Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

Leave a Reply

