New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

What the blog am I talking about?

Three years ago I didn’t even know what a blog was.  I had heard the word and I knew it had something to do with the internet but I had no clue as to what it actually was.   I am of the age that I have seen cell phones come into existence, computers, video games,  ipads, etc. etc.   I have attempted to keep up with the newest gadgets but sometimes I feel as if  I can’t keep up with it all.  But I am so glad I found blogging!

I am amazed everyday at the wealth of information and the passion that so many of you writers are giving to others.  there are blogs about sports, news, music, food, health, life, kids and the list goes on and on.  So, What the blog am I talking about?

Well, if you look at the categories section of my site you will see several different areas to roam.  I have tried to make it easier for the reader to find topics that they are interested in.  Sometimes I have a difficult time deciding which category to place an article in.  There is a fine line between “about me”, “life” and “thoughts” because it’s all me.  My opinions, subjects and  short stories of my life, then we have the “insightful views” category. This is the area where I try to explain what it has been like to live with a disability in a world that is not providing everyone with the same opportunities and supports.  For instance…..did you realize that nine times out of ten, when I go to a fast food restaurant or even through the drive thru that due to my near sightedness, I cannot see the menu?  It’s usually in small print way up at the ceiling or the sign is far enough away that I can’t see it.  This is just one very small example of the annoying things I have had to deal with.  Anyone with a disability of any kind will tell you that society STILL has a long way to go.

In essence, My blog is about a southern lady (me) growing up in a world feeling alone and very shy due to the nature of my disability.  Learning to cope and attempt to  live an ordinary life while having to deal on a daily basis how others (usually strangers) would react to me.  I succeeded living a so-called ordinary life, getting married, having two children, divorcing, running a business and finding jobs.

Living the life that I was born with has given me a different perception of things than most other people have.  After dealing with many “life circumstances”  I finally became comfortable in my own skin.  It is so ironic that once that happened, I had the opportunity to correct the physical part of my disability with surgeries.   I am still very near-sighted with low vision, BUT….My appearance is just as normal now as any so-called “normal” person.    I am experiencing both sides, no more stares, comments or being treated differently.  I feel like I am a human experiment comparing how people react to me before and after.

Motivation : Motivation

I can’t begin to explain to everyone how much fun I am having just waking up everyday to a new life, new dreams and new circumstances.  I am motivated to make changes in my career and pursue the things I love.

THAT my dear friends is what the blog I am talking about!

2 comments on “What the blog am I talking about?

  1. Sherry
    May 24, 2012

    Thank you Misty….and yes it is important and we are our own worst critics!

  2. Misty
    May 24, 2012

    Congrats to your “new life” 🙂 I am glad that you are comfortable in your own skin it’s so important!

Leave a Reply

