New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Living your legacy

    You enter the funeral home to pay your respects to the deceased. Everyone is standing around in small groups quietly talking amongst themselves. As you sign the guest book you notice that your pen isn’t working, you look around for another but there isn’t one. “Oh well” you think to yourself, “I will sign it later.”    As you weave in and out of the different groups making your way to the casket you overhear people talking about the deceased. Some are saying how much they will miss this person while others are talking about how rude and selfish they were.

 
Finally you slowly ease up to the casket and look down at the person inside….suddenly fear grips you like an electric shock pulsing through your body, you feel weak and sweaty. “No, It can’t be!    As you take a closer look you realize….it’s YOU!
“But it can’t be, I am right here, I’m alive!” You look at the motionless body one more time and you recognize small physical details of your face and hands and you know that this is you lying in the casket.

    Sounds morbid to think about it but lets face it, no one is ever really ready to die. For some…. we will be gone in an instant, we will be standing over our body looking at ourselves thinking “what happened?”. Some of us will have some warning of the end of our life by a doctor telling us our bodies are failing. We will have some time to think and prepare, The fact remains, it all seems to happen before we want it to.

When you are gone…… What kind of legacy will you leave behind?

 

Will people remember you for your kindness or your impatience?

 

Your encouragement or your callousness?

 

Your selfishness or your love for helping others?

 

    We tend to get so caught up in our daily routines that we lose touch with things that really matter, until we are gently reminded by the passing of someone who has played a part in our life.

    What will the groups of friends, co workers and families say about you?   Maybe some will say you were a trailblazer and lived your life to its fullest  or maybe they will say  “poor thing, I wish he/she would have pursued their dream.”

    Personally I would like to leave this earth knowing that I made it better for some. That I touched others by helping and encouraging them.  I am leaving my two beautiful daughters that I am very proud of and I know they will continue to spread love and encouragement to others.

    Don’t get taken over by “trying” to leave a legacy. It will happen naturally by living an authentic lifestyle. Be true to yourself, never let anyone dictate to you what you should be doing.  Listen to others advice but use discernment when choosing a path to travel.
Then and only then will your legacy be yours and only yours…. Just as individual as you are!

Live your legacy!

 

3 comments on “Living your legacy

  1. sherrylcook
    May 29, 2012

    Nikky, first of all…know that you are not alone. There are so many people out there who think they are not important. Know that we are all important….we were all born with a purpose, you may not know what that purpose is yet, but know that God put you on this earth for a reason. You are here to fullfill a void that only YOU can fill. As your life unfolds and you search for your “place” it will be unveiled to you. You have a beautiful soul that is full of love and that love overflows to others that need it. be inspired because you inspire me!
    hugs to you! Sherry

    • nikky44
      May 29, 2012

      Thank you so much for your sweet words Sherry ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. nikky44
    May 27, 2012

    It’s a great post. I always think that I am not ‘enough”, that I am not loved, that I’m nothing, not important to anyone, but while I was reading your post, I realized that after I’m gone, no one can say anything bad about me because I know I didn’t hurt anyone and if i did I made sure I asked for forgiveness. I have helped whenever i could and loved everyone. Why then would anyone think bad about me after I die? Then I thought if no one can think bad of me after I die, why do I think bad of myself now? Thank you so much for that!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2012 by in About Me.
