New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Countdown

I have eighteen days until I attempt the barbarian challenge in Gadsden, Al. I know I’m not ready physically but mentally I am psyched. I’ve tried to stick to a regular workout routine to prepare for this 4.3 mile obstacle course in ninety degree temps but life just gets in the way.

I’m not going to start making excuses for myself because I am the one that will pay the price on June 23rd. I am making a commitment right now to really put an effort into some hard training for the next two weeks.

My goal? To make it across the finish line! No specific time expectation…. Just get through the entire race without quitting! My daughter and I made this challenge to keep us on track for her upcoming wedding on the beach in September.

So here I go! I’m off to the gym. Any encouragement will be greatly appreciated!

20 comments on “Countdown

  1. Pingback: T minus 10 days and counting, am I a barbarian? « sherrylcook

  2. Julianna
    June 12, 2012

    Your goal is a fabulous one. Perhaps even start telling yourself it’ll be easier and more fun than you’ve imagined…change the mindset and the reality changes! Rockin’ that you’re taking on such a healthy mind/body/spirit challenge…it’s far easier not to, so you’ve already succeeded in massive and expansive ways!

    • sherrylcook
      June 12, 2012

      Yes! I so agree with you, no more worrying about if I am fit enough, just going to “do this” thank you for the encouragement….Love your blog by the way!

      • Julianna
        June 12, 2012

        Excellent…for your energy/perspective, and for loving my blog! Yey for you doing this (I wish it was the motivating piece to tip my scales into doing a similar challenge…but I do see it as fuel for the fire!). Hope you have a lovely day…

  3. Pingback: The Barbarian Challenge aka Help! I think I have an addiction… « Coach Crystal's Padawan

  4. Misty
    June 6, 2012

    You can do it 🙂

    • sherrylcook
      June 6, 2012

      Thank you, thank you, thank you! these words from all my readers will carry me through!

  5. coachcrystalspadawan
    June 6, 2012

    Rock on, girl!! You are going to be so pumped… after you finish!! 😉

    • sherrylcook
      June 6, 2012

      I know I will! I’m pumped just thinking about it!!!

      • coachcrystalspadawan
        June 6, 2012

        We are running at 9 — how about you?

      • sherrylcook
        June 6, 2012

        10 am, although there is no telling what time I will finish!

      • coachcrystalspadawan
        June 6, 2012

        I should be back in time to watch you start!! woo-hoo!!

      • sherrylcook
        June 6, 2012

        I’m looking forward to meeting you, we need to take a pic and post for everyone!

      • coachcrystalspadawan
        June 6, 2012

        That is a great idea… Muddy Buddies!! haha.

  6. healthyfrenchie
    June 5, 2012

    This is awesome! Best of luck, I know you’ll do great

    • sherrylcook
      June 5, 2012

      Thank you! I’ve never done anything quite like this before so I will definitely be posting about it and taking pics.

  7. Abby Rae
    June 5, 2012

    I heard the theme song to Rocky 🙂 you will rock it barbarian-style~

    • sherrylcook
      June 5, 2012

      Good idea, I will be running that soundtrack in my head while I am crossing the finish line!!! whoohoo!

  8. shellirayner
    June 5, 2012

    I know you are going to be awesome. I’m so proud of you.

    • sherrylcook
      June 5, 2012

      Thank you Shelli, I will be posting pics for sure!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2012 by in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , .
