New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Satisfaction guaranteed?

Is our satisfaction really guaranteed?

Sounds good doesn’t it?  When we see or hear an advertisement for a product, they say your satisfaction is guaranteed. They say it with such enthusiasm and it sounds so good that it makes us want to purchase it, heck….if we don’t like it, we can always take it back!

baldwinsystems.net

 

What about our happiness?  Is that guaranteed also?  Sorry to inform you, but the answer is NO. We are not guaranteed anything in this life.  We are not born with a certificate redeemable if it doesn’t work out well.  We can’t go back and re-do anything.   We DO have second chances but we have to make them.  We have to make the decisions to start over and do it right.

Are we ever 100% satisfied?

Do we ever sit back and say “I am totally satisfied with everything, I have everything I want, my job is perfect, my family is perfect, I have the perfect health, I love my appearance and life is just one huge rosy picture perfect world.”    If you can honestly say that then I want to know your secrets because I have never met anyone  that has it THAT good!  

Why do we say “If I could only make more money or find that perfect somebody?”   Then when we get it, we are already looking for something else?  Why can’t we be satisfied?

It’s a yearning that our inner soul is always striving for betterment in our lives.  That little voice telling us something more that could make us happier.  Some people will act on it and constantly work hard to attempt to get it while others are complacent and believe that it is unattainable for them.  Both are wrong….

There should be a compromise between the two.   You should identify what you want, Go for the next thing that will make you happy  plus, be truly content with where you are in your life.  Be grateful for what you do have and not constantly be driven by what you don’t have.  its called BALANCE.

 

“True happiness is to enjoy the present, without anxious dependence upon the future, not to amuse ourselves with either hopes or fears but to rest satisfied with what we have, which is sufficient, for he that is so wants nothing. The gratest blessings of mankind are within us and within our reach. A wise man is content with his lot, whatever it may be, without wishing for what he has not.”
Seneca

 

How do I know if I am balanced?

1. Are you constantly wanting more?

2. Does your conversation always involve what you are trying to get?

3. Are other areas in your life getting ignored?

Obtaining a healthy balance

1. Make time to be grateful for the life you do have and nurture them.  Your family, friends, hobbies and spiritual self. 

2. Don’t overdo anything in one particular area. 

3. Pay attention if people start backing away from you, it may be that you are so focused on yourself that you are not meeting their needs.

Be ready

It’s ok to work for your happiness, go for it!  have the WIN attitude.  It is in your DNA to always want the happiness that we think we deserve but don’t let it drive you to the point of lost relationships. 

Be ready for life’s ups and downs to take you by surprise,  Our happiness is not guaranteed!  It’s inside of us, dig down and find it from inside of you. 

happiness.jpg

 

Are you living a balanced life? 

Do you think it is possible to be 100% satisified?

5 comments on “Satisfaction guaranteed?

  1. frankoshanko
    June 12, 2012

    I think happiness is right here, right now. Otherwise, we’re still chasing an elusive goal. In truth, nothing will make us happy. We can choose to be happy anytime we’re ready! The sooner the better!!! ( :

    • sherrylcook
      June 12, 2012

      This reminds me of the scene in the “Wizard of Oz” where Dorothy says, “If I ever go looking for my hearts desire, I won’t go looking in further than my own backyard because if it isn’t there, I never really lost it to begin with.”
      We have what it takes, we just need to cultivate on how to use it….especially in times of hardship.

  2. douglas1958
    June 11, 2012

    It almost defies human nature to be 100% satisfied. We can come close but there will always be something lacking.
    Still I try to be as happy as possible where I am with what I’ve got. I think that comes with age and a really really clever wife!!

    Thought provoking post.

    doug

    • sherrylcook
      June 11, 2012

      Thank you for commenting Doug, I agree with you, there is just something deep within us that continues to long for more. I happen to be happier now than I’ve been in years yet still…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2012 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
