New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

T minus 10 days and counting, am I a barbarian?

this is part three in a series of articles documenting my journey of entering the

The Barbarian Challenge

Ten days until I find out if I have what it takes to be a barbarian. I’m beginning to have my doubts. I haven’t been as obligated to my training as I had hoped to be.

My daughter and I took on this challenge hoping it would give us more incentive to stay on track of losing a few pounds for her September beach wedding. That part of the deal has worked, we’ve both lost a few pounds & toned up a little. So what’s the problem you might ask?

I received an email from the “barbarians” and the first line said, (and I quote)” it is only days until you enter into the valley of pain, you will have no fear, fear is not an option!

Have I bitten off more than I can chew? I have a tendency to do that sometimes. I’ve never ran any kind of race before let alone an obstacle course. What was I thinking? I’m a fifty-one year old grandmother!

I love the meaning of a barbarian… Maybe this is why I am so challenged by this thing, it’s a personal challenge for me.

I quote directly from  

“They will be very self motivated. As they relish in their achievements, they will not lose themselves in over glorification of themselves. They will use this opportunity to lift up those around them. Their achievements hold greater meaning when others accomplish those achievements with them. They inspire those around them even if they are unaware of it. They will have pride in their sweat soaked and blood stained shirts. They will refuse to hide their cuts and bruises, as they hope to have a passerby question them. Finally, they will have a slightly addictive personality…After they become a “barbarian” they will never stop. They will be addicted to life. It will be habit. They will be the pioneers, as they spread the word without enticement. They will be leaders as they grow the army and continue to change the world for the better.”

Today I did 2.5 miles on the elliptical machine – 20 minutes, & 2 miles on the treadmill 32 minutes. Weights, arms & legs. As I slithered out of the gym I felt good, now I need to do this everyday!

I will be meeting another blogger there that I am pumped about. How often do you get to meet a fellow blogger? He has a great site, you should visit him at

Coach Crystal’s Padawan     Pictures will be posted after the race!

All kidding aside , I am so excited and looking forward to this event. I will get to see my daughters new home in Pinson after her wedding and meet her finances parents. It will be a wonderful weekend.

T minus 10 days and counting, I am a barbarian! 🙂

For more reading…..

Eighteen days before challenge –  https://sherrylcook.wordpress.com/2012/06/05/countdown/

Seven weeks before challenge – https://sherrylcook.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/count-me-in/

Two months before challenge – https://sherrylcook.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/we-are-barbarian-erggggg/

13 comments on “T minus 10 days and counting, am I a barbarian?

  1. Zane Shutte
    July 11, 2012

    Elliptical machines are wonderful for workouts. I used it when i want to tone down my muscle tissues and lose weight fast..`:’: Have a great day! supplements site

    • sherrylcook
      July 11, 2012

      yes, I like the elliptical…..I’m even looking for a used one to buy for my home..Thanks for commenting!

  2. Pingback: The Barbarian Challenge | Geek Alabama

  3. coachcrystalspadawan
    June 19, 2012

    I am starting to get really excited!! T-minus 4 days!! i have the babysitter lined up to show up at 6. We have the schedule, the plan (eating bagels (plus smear…. love smear) and energy drinks, picking up the “clan” in gardendale and downtown on the way), and I am starting to feel the Barbarian attitude. I have a hearing Thursday morning. I need to contain it until after that. lol. Are you excited yet??

    • sherrylcook
      June 19, 2012

      ohhhh yeah!!! What is smear??? We are leaving Mobile on friday at noon, will spend the night in Pinson, leave around 7:30 and should get there about 8:30. race time for me is 10am. They say there are 1,000 participants this year! I am excited!!! gonna strap a water resistant disposable camera around my waist!

      • coachcrystalspadawan
        June 19, 2012

        I so hope the camera makes it… Smear is bagel spread. They have it up north, but you have to look for it around here. When we get closer to race time, I will let you know what i am wearing. There was some discussion of a costume, but I am not sure it will get her in time… 😉

  4. A Star on the Forehead
    June 13, 2012

    wow, that is a great challenge! Good luck to the future barbarian! What an accomplishment will be! secretly jealous 🙂

  5. Red Sonya
    June 13, 2012

    HA HA HA! It was ‘painful’ for me to read about it…enjoy your endeavors! Congratulations and best wishes to you both.

    • sherrylcook
      June 13, 2012

      Thank you Sonya, I’m not sure yet as to what possessed me to do this but I’m following my intuitions!

  6. shanna
    June 13, 2012

    have we lost our minds……LOL

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2012 by in Health and fitness and tagged , , , .
