New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Living a monocular life part 4 (little inconveniences)

It’s those little inconveniences!

I was born with low vision so I have no idea what 20-20 vision looks like.  I’ve tried to imagine what the difference would be just by the things I hear you say,  such as…

“See that bird flying over there?” or “look at the fish in the water over here!”  Chances are I can’t see it. I’ll squint my eyes and look in the direction that you are pointing but I may never see it.

I remember my daughter Haley needed glasses when she was twelve years old.  When she first put them on and looked around, her expression was so full of delight.  As she pointed out different things  around her she said “I can see the lines on the leaves of the trees!” and ” everything is so beautiful.”

If I never had it to begin with, I don’t miss what I didn’t have.

My doctor has tried glasses on me hundreds of times, nothing makes my sight any better.  I know I can’t see as good as you can, I have a difficult time seeing the intricate details and sometimes only light and dark shadows from far away distances.

I can remember my ex husband complaining one day that I didn’t clean something good enough, he didn’t stop to realize that maybe I didn’t see that small streak of dust on the baseboard.

At work, the people that we support build outdoor swings and chairs made of white cypress and I have a problem seeing tiny cracks in the wood.  To me, it all blends together.

If  I’m working on the computer for a long length of time the letters on the screen become distorted making it difficult to read.  When I rub my eyes I might dislodge my artificial eye causing a slight bit of pain.  Ceiling fans at night cause my prosthetic eye to get very dry and irritated.  I usually wake up  in the mornings and rush to get some soothing drops in.

These are all very minor inconveniences that infiltrate my life daily. It’s a very small price to pay for the good fortune I have for being able to see at all.  I don’t dwell on what I don’t see, just grateful for what I do see.

Why do I write about this?

I hope that by my writings you will understand a little more about others who deal with low vision or those of us with monocular vision.  My desire is for all of us to accept and understand anyone that is living with any type of challenge so they can have the same opportunities as everyone else.

Today… be grateful for the little things that make your life convenient and understand that people who have challenges may need a little support.  We don’t want pity or others to do things for us, just be understanding.

 

A-helping-hand1.jpg

5 comments on “Living a monocular life part 4 (little inconveniences)

  1. Mono vision is a subtle disability that is difficult for folks with (normal) stereo vision to understand. I’m monocular from birth, but had early surgery and learned to alternate focus @ an early age. I think It is important for folks with mono vision to learn to work with both eyes and hands for balance (physical and mental) if both eyes are functional. Adding a visual detail deficit is an additional challenge.

    There are a few benefits for mono seers. I find it easier to see that my car is overtaking the one ahead of me allowing for earlier prep for proper passing. The downside is that I am inclined to be impatient with most stereo seeing drivers who don’t seem to see the overtaking until 50 ft when their duplex cues kick in.

    • sherrylcook
      November 4, 2013

      Thank you for the “pardon the pun” insightful view of living with monocular vision. I’m sure there are many individual reasons why some have a harder time than others. People have told me they are amazed at how I can bowl, shoot pool, drive, shoot a gun, catch a ball…well you get the idea…so well. the vision in my good eye is only 20/200. The physical body has a way of teaching itself over time how to compensate for the lack in another area. There have been times while playing tennis I will take a swing at the oncoming ball and totally miss it…thinking it was nearer to me than it actually was. It’s all in good fun though, we all have our issues and it’s part of our learning to live with gratitude!

  2. nikky44
    July 13, 2012

    Thank you Sherryl for sharing ❤

  3. coachdougbowers
    July 3, 2012

    Well done – learning to deal with what we have and not worry about what we don’t have is by far the best way to get through life with a happy spirit. A great reminder that none of us are “perfect” and we really should be grateful for what we have ( I know I am!) and be considerate to those with challenges we may not even know about. Nice post
    doug

    • sherrylcook
      July 3, 2012

      Thank you for commenting, if I can make people more aware that others are facing challenges that most people may not even be aware of, then I have succeeded in making their life just a bit better. It all boils down to being considerate of your fellow human beings! Have a great day!.

Leave a Reply

