New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

While I was writing…

 

I began writing my memoirs about three years ago, I was on vacation with a good friend of mine in the smoky mountains of Tn. It was a fantastic week of rest and beauty. The autumn leaves and light snowfall just inspired me to begin writing, so as soon as I returned home I started on what I now know was a journey.

It has been very therapeutic to write my memoirs, putting all of my feelings down on paper. Going through all of my past memories as a child and growing up. It felt as if I were re-living my life in a sense. The pain of my divorce was still buried deep within me but I gained a new perspective writing about it. Now I understand that the divorce was inevitable and I am in a much better place now. I deserve more out of life and should never settle for less.

Remembering everything and dissecting the emotions were bittersweet, I wish there were things I could do over but that’s not the way life works is it?

Writing this book has taken much longer than I would have ever dreamed. It’s a good thing I didn’t realize how hard it was going to be because I may not have ever attempted it. Working a full-time job, building my home, a part-time insurance job on the side and attempting to have some sort of social life didn’t leave much room for writing.

I wrote in spurts when the mood struck me. Sometimes I would write daily for three or four weeks then I would set it down and not pick it back up for a month or two. The problem I was having is how would I end it? My life was still happening!

Fate has a way of working everything out and the ending to my memoirs fell right into my lap. As I was nearing the end of my story (getting close to the present year) things just fell into place that I knew would make the perfect ending. Not that my life is ending by no means, it is really just beginning!

 

I guess now I will have to write the sequel… No wait! I still have a lot of living to do!

4 comments on “While I was writing…

  1. Pingback: Writing Our Stories « creativityorcrazy

  2. coachcrystalspadawan
    July 29, 2012

    Such an uplifting post… glad you found your book ending! :)

  3. Shantelle Latreese
    July 28, 2012

    thank you for sharing!

  4. diannegray
    July 28, 2012

    This is wonderful. I’m a great believer in everyone putting their life in writing. I wish my grandparents and great grandparents and back and back had done the same.

    I have a memoir that won’t be shared until I’m long gone! It starts with my first memory and just keeps going – it’s amazing what you remember about your childhood when you do this.

    I also went through a bitter divorce many years ago but the good thing is that my ex, myself and our respective partners are all friends now. The bad thing is that the turning point that brought us together was the death of a child – and if that doesn’t ground you to the ‘life is too short to bicker scenario’, nothing will!

    Keep going with the memoir! Life is full of surprises and changes and at the end of each publishing phase insert the words – ‘to be continued…’

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 27, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 189 other followers

What is your defining moment?

We all have those moments in life where we are shaped into who we are and what we stand for. Do you remember yours?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

