New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

My first speaking presentation

 public-speaking.jpg

 

Moving forward in a new direction…

I joined a local toastmaster club a month ago to enhance my speaking skills. I am following my gut feelings in pursuing my new endeavors.  My long-range goals is to be able to quit my day job and pursue this full-time.

I’ve had some speaking experience in the past when I owned a dance studio.  I would emcee our performances at the local and state levels.  However, I know that I need to increase my skills in organizational speaking methods.

Last night I gave my first introductory speech. I felt confident, I knew the material (my life) and I feel as though I impacted the audience well. If you’ve been keeping up with my blog, you will know that my story is a bit unusual.  (Read  a short bio here …   https://sherrylcook.wordpress.com/about/ .)  I had been attending these meetings for the past month and I had not given any information about my story prior to my speech.  Needless to say, I throughly enjoyed seeing everyone’s expressions when I unveiled my experiences to them.

For my first time out I feel as though I accomplished what I set out to do.  One more step closer to making my transition!

I would love to hear from you on speeches you might have made and how it turned out!

http://sherrylcook.com

2 comments on “My first speaking presentation

  1. sherrylcook
    August 11, 2012

    I would think that you would be an excellent speaker Margot…and it can be an exhilarating experience when you accomplish what you set out to do, I can only imagine the humbleness you can feel if you really mess up….kinda like the thrill of victory or the agony of defeat! Its all a learning process!

  2. Margot Hamilton
    August 10, 2012

    My most memorable speaking experience was when I spoke at the Right to Live of Mississippi annual banquet. I was a sidewalk counselor and was able to save at least one child that I know of. The speech was about the experience and seeking the support of others. Speaking of such an important event and asking for the support of others in this endeavor was exhilarating.

    Great post and I’m sure you did an exceptional job. You are an amazingly strong person!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , .
