New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Happy Birthday…to YOU!

Is it YOUR birthday?    No?  well its MINE!  but, Happy Birthday…to YOU!

Today, August 15th is my birthday!   The day I came into this world to live the life I am supposed to live.  I share this birthday with several other momentous occasions (just to name a few) such as…

1457       Earliest dated book, “Mainz Psalter,” completed

1620       Mayflower sets sail from Southampton with 102 Pilgrims

1635      1st recorded US hurricane hit the Plymouth Colony

1863      Submarine “HL Hunley” arrives in Charleston on railroad cars

1911        Procter & Gamble unveils its Crisco shortening

1939        “Wizard of Oz” premieres at Grauman’s Chinese Theater, Hollywood

1957        David Simons reaches 30,942 m in Man High 2 balloon

1960         UFO is sighted by 3 California patrolmen

1965        Beatles play to 55,000 at Shea Stadium

1969         Woodstock Music & Art Fair opens in NY State (Max Yasgur’s Dairy

Farm.)

1986       Pres Reagan decides to support a replacement for Challenger

1997       Dow Jones drops 247.37 pts

With today’s technology and social media, I awoke this morning with my iphone making little notification sounds every minute or so.  Each sound means someone is sending me a message of some type.  Seeing all of the birthday greetings from each and every friend is like going through a memory book of my life.  I can connect special times spent together with each of you and it means the world to me. 

My life has been through so many changes in the past few years which I am so grateful for.  I want to do something a little different this year.  I want to dedicate this birthday to all of my dear friends, readers and anyone who may be just browsing around and by mere chance happen to be reading this.  This is for you…

On my birthday…I want YOU to do something special for YOURSELF on this day, and if you happen to be reading this on another day, it’s ok…do it anyway.  This will make the gratitude last all year-long!  It can be anything you want…just give yourself the permission to do something nice for you. This will REALLY make my day if I knew you followed through on this. 

If you are needing suggestions on what to do. I will give you a few but don’t limit yourself to just these suggestions….use your imagination!  Whatever it is… just enjoy it! 

Take fifteen minutes to reflect and be grateful for your life and your loved ones.

Buy yourself something that you have been wanting!

Spread an extra smile or “good deed” to someone who may be in need.

Be compassionate to others who may be in need.  Life them up.

Give someone an extra hug.

Be grateful for this day.

Treat yourself to something special!

YOU are my friends, readers and fellow human beings. Enjoy my birthday and do it for ME!

Have a great day everyone! 

How did you spend your day today?  Did you do something special for yourself or someone else on this day?  I would love to know!

www.sherrylcook.com

2 comments on “Happy Birthday…to YOU!

  1. Candy S
    August 15, 2012

    Happy Birthday! Sorry that I didn’t read this earlier, I will do something special for me tomorrow. I pray that you enjoyed your day! 🙂

    • sherrylcook
      August 16, 2012

      Thank you Candy, I had a wonderful day and I hope you give yourself something “special” today!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2012 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
