New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Completing my memoirs/ it’s a thoughtful process

My memoirs

.

It’s definitely a process, one that has forced me to look back at my life from many different angles.  From childhood to the present time, writing my story has given me the insight that I would have never known if I had never written it.  Looking back at some of the decisions I’ve made almost makes me cringe with regret, but then I may not be where I am now. Believe me when I say, NOW is a good place for me.  It’s so cliché to say but it’s true…life is a journey, good and bad, stupid and smart, richer and poorer.  You get the idea…

.

As I’ve said before in prior posts, I’ve always wanted to write my story so my children, grandchildren and on down the line can know what my life is like and maybe share some wisdom on having compassion and understanding our purpose better. 

Growing up with a rare  birth defect that affected my appearance and eyesight forced me to face and overcome challenges of all types.  Getting along in this world is hard enough, then throw in your own personal obstacles of raising a family,  surviving a broken marriage after twenty years, owning a business and re-entering the dating scene at middle-age can be very provoking to say the least!

.

Now, I’ve come full circle. My children are living their own stories, my life is in a much better place,  I’ve found a wonderful man to share my life with and after several surgeries my birth defect is no longer… except for dealing with my near- sightedness which is part of the birth defect.  My appearance has totally been transformed!

 .

I am now entering into a new phase of life.  I want to help others who may be going through difficult situations.  I am seeking out motivational speaking engagements  and pursuing my creative side by painting more seriously.   Life is good! 

Funny how life seems to lay itself out and fall into place piece by piece, fitting together like a puzzle.  When the puzzle is complete you can see the whole picture.  

 .

I am so very blessed to have been able to write my memoirs and reflect on my accomplishments and my failures.  To take that very in-depth look at my lifespan of fifty years within the confines of 150 pages.   Soon it will be time to begin the process of publishing, another challenge that I am sure will be worth it.

 .

Completing my memoirs has been a thoughtful process.

 .

If you have started a project that you can’t seem to finish, just keep plugging away at it little by little.  Sooner or later you are bound to complete it if you really want too.

.

Join me…

Please join me in finding and improving your golden visions of your better YOU at http://sherrylcook.com   subscribe to the mailing list and you will recieve special newsletters that go into more detail of how we can all improve our lives with health tips and tricks, healthy recipes, positive lifestyle information and motivational true stories that will definitely inspire you!  

.

Do you need help with an obstacle you are facing now?

Do you have an obstacle staring straight in your face right now?   Do you need help in overcoming them?  listen to my radio broadcast here to find ways to BUST your obstacles!  

http://bit.ly/20120823-ss-slc

.

3 comments on “Completing my memoirs/ it’s a thoughtful process

  1. Pingback: Memoir Writing is About Defining Your Audience

  2. sherrylcook
    August 31, 2012

    Thank you CM, glad you dropped by! I visited your site also and can’t get over the similarities in your recent post (pics) abd my hometown. I knew we had alot of spanish influence but wow! I live in Mobile, Alabama on the gulf coast. The statues, forts, waterways and buildings are very similar.
    Do you recommend self publishing over sending in query letters to publishers? I will be reading your articles on self publishing!
    have a great weekend!

  3. CMSmith
    August 31, 2012

    Good luck with your book. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

