New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

I want to tell the world

If I had only one chance to tell you anything, what would it be?

.

A friend of mine asked me a question the other day, she said “Why do you have a blog?”  I honestly did not have an answer, not a good one anyway.

Maybe it’s because I want someone to know about me, to understand me or agree with me.

Maybe I am hoping  it will bring along some great opportunities that I never thought imaginable.

The more I thought about it, I kept coming back to the one message I want to communicate to others more than anything else and that is…

Be  compassionate

.

If I don’t get anything else across to you, the reader of this post is please… I want you to find compassion in your heart for others that are suffering…mentally or physically.

Most people have been so hardened in our society to get ahead, win, improve, fight for what you want, that it leaves little room for stopping and taking a moment to “really” comprehend what someone else may be going through.

 

* The kid that gets left out of the game.

* The teenager that is teased because they don’t fit in.

* The person in the wheelchair trying to get in a doorway.

* The one that didn’t get the job promotion.

* Developmentally disabled people who most others try to ignore so they don’t have to deal   with them.

* Someone that is hurting inside for who knows what?

 

I could go on and on with the above list but I think you get the idea.

 

You don’t know what another person is going through emotionally… underneath deep within their hearts.   

Not until you have spent a day, month or year in their shoes.

I cannot begin to scratch the surface in telling you how severely I hurt inside every single time someone stared at me or made a rude comment about how I looked for fifty years until I had surgery to correct the birth defect on my face… and I never told anyone.

I was a happy, common sense type of person to everyone who knew me and very few people ever knew how much I longed to be considered “normal.”  You can read more about me here…https://sherrylcook.wordpress.com/about/

Please people…be kind to other people. Take the time to share a smile instead of a stare.  Offer assistance instead of pretending they don’t exist.  Parents, teach your children that being different is ok and to be kind… words and stares can hurt.  Talk to someone and be a friend, a pat on the back, word of encouragement or compliment can make someones day.

compassion.jpg

.

The person you might “think” doesn’t measure up might be the one person that can help you out one day.  We are all humans and we all have our deficits and talents.

.

I understand that in this age of high-tech gadgets and fast media we have less time and we are all fighting to get ahead.  But…I beg you, no… I challenge you to make a difference in someone’s life.  You just never know when you may find yourself hurting and needing a compassionate soul to comfort you.

 

 

Visit http://sherrylcook.com for an inspiring website full of motivational stories, healthy living tips and tricks and a few kicks and giggles added for good measure.

4 comments on “I want to tell the world

  1. ahumanistsperspective
    September 26, 2012

    Outstanding post!!

    • sherrylcook
      September 26, 2012

      Thank you! And thank you for stopping by to read a little, please come again soon… I will be making a trip to your site soon to check it out. (The title intrigues me).

  2. sherrylcook
    September 25, 2012

    coachdoug… Thank you for the encouragement. I have enjoyed your blog for many months now and I hope you continue on as well. If we can convince one person to be kinder, healthier and more at peace with themselves then it is all worth it! Thanks for commenting.

  3. coachdougbowers
    September 25, 2012

    Hi Sherryl – the list is indeed endless. It’s also how I started my blog / blurb. To help my wife who was extremely ill. I then went on with the hopes of helping and inspiring others to overcome their health issues. Keep going girl – you are on the right path!
    doug

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 25, 2012 by in About Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
