New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Perpetual appreciation

Perpetual appreciation

My Felicitous Fall Festival

If you are a regular reader of my blog, you will know already the changes I have gone through in the past two years and why I have perpetual appreciation in my life. if you are new to this site, you should read ”about me” section at the top of this page to understand better what you are about to read.

On feeling inadequate…

Because of the abnormality of my eye that I’ve had since birth, I learned to escape questions from people by either avoiding them altogether or simply not putting myself in situations that I knew would end up being embarrassing for me. When my daughters were young I wanted to participate in their school functions, be a room mother and help out in all kinds of ways but I knew from experience that as soon as I entered the class room, the other children would point, ask questions and possibly treat my children differently. I did participate at times but if I could get away with sending cupcakes, money or treats I would choose to do that instead. I did not want my children to be teased because their mother looked differently.

Children can be so heartlessly curious

Children are curious by nature and that is what makes them so unique. I love children and even taught dance classes for many years. Teaching dance was a bit different because I was the teacher, a person of authority.

Usually children would stare, run to their parent’s side and ask them what was wrong with that lady over there with the weird-looking eye, or just bluntly ask me “What is wrong with your eye?” while continuing to stare at me for an eternity it seemed.

This past weekend I attended my granddaughters Fall festival at her school. My daughter is the room mother and was in charge of a game booth there. I went to offer my help to my daughter and spend time with my granddaughters. When I arrived I realized how long it had been since I had attended one of these school festivals and it felt good to be there.

My current revelation

Children were everywhere going from booth to booth playing games, eating, having their faces painted and winning prizes. It was a good time for all that were there. For me personally… it was a realization that now that I’ve had the surgeries to correct the disfigurement on my face, I could interact with the children with no stares, comments or humility. I could talk to them, help them and play with them!

Children are so precious and I have such a compassion for all of them. I remember like it was yesterday how inferior you can feel whenever you feel inadequate. I walked around the festival with my granddaughters showing them that they don’t have to feel inadequate about anything. I want to show them they are special and can do anything they put their minds to.

We should all learn to be grateful daily.

I came away from that morning at the festival with such a feeling of appreciation that I can communicate with children now without the questions getting in the way. I have been given the gift of second chances and still have the knowledge of sincere compassion for everyone. Thanks to my life being what it is….

It has been a year and a half since my appearance has been corrected and It still takes some getting used to the idea that I don’t look abnormal any longer.  I continue to have these little realizations of gratitude of the way my life has turned out. My wish is that everyone could feel the type of gratefulness of just being “normal.” Life is good, enjoy this life with all that you have…. no matter your circumstances.

Leave your comments below and let us know what you can be grateful for today?

Please visit http://sherrylcook.com and subscribe to my weekly newsletter on healthy living habits for your mind, body and spirit!

.

2 comments on “Perpetual appreciation

  1. Gina Hughes~Ribeyro
    October 1, 2012

    I am grateful for lifelong friends like you!!

    • sherrylcook
      October 1, 2012

      Gina, friends can never be replaced! and I appreciate you too!

Leave a Reply

