New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

A letter to myself…twenty years from now.

Dearest self,

This letter finds you at the ripe old age of seventy two years old!  You look pretty good but I am not surprised since you have always exercised and acted younger than you actually are.  I am wondering if you can actually see good enough to read this letter… you have always had vision problems since you were born.  I know that you’ve been told since birth that one day you could be blind but you proved everyone wrong by getting on with your life and not listening to anyone. Getting an education, driving, owning a business, having a family, art, dance and everything else that you can possible imagine.   If you can’t see this letter I am sure Haley or Shanna will read it to you… just know that you filled your entire life with wonderful memories and you have always been able to see more without your eyes than with your eyes.

Congratulations on finally publishing your memoirs!  believe me when I say I know how hard you worked on that project.  Your story is finally out there for anyone who may need a bit of positive reading.

You are finally retired and enjoying the time of life of tranquility.  You have had a wonderful life while carrying on the values and traditions that your parents gave to you.  Your grandchildren and great grandchildren will receive the same morals and family values because of you.

I just want you to know that twenty years ago you were just beginning your “new life”  and I know that you are thinking, where has the time gone?

Just remember dear Sherry…you are only as old as you FEEL!    get up outta that rocking chair and do a heel kick!      whoop whoop!

.

FYI –   Please follow this link to my new website  http://sherrylcook.com   and subscribe by entering your email to receive weekly newsletters on keeping your mind, body and spirit happy and healthy!   

5 comments on “A letter to myself…twenty years from now.

  1. Pingback: Worries about the future « life in absence

  2. nikky44
    November 6, 2012

    I just joined the new website.
    I loved the idea, and someone suggested I must do that some time ago as an exercise about the ‘law of attraction”. i couldn’t think of myself in the future at all. I liked it!

    • sherrylcook
      November 6, 2012

      Hi Nikky! Hope you are doing well… Writing about yourself in twenty years will really make you think… It gives you a new perspective…much love to you!
      Sherry

  3. butimbeautiful
    November 6, 2012

    Lovely! What a nice idea – sort of setting out your success in hindsight. Inspirational!

    • sherrylcook
      November 6, 2012

      Thank you for reading! I think I will save this one to actually read to myself in twenty years… Might put a smile on my face!
      Hugs, Sherry

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2012 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , .
