New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

This is only a test…

The following is a test of the “everyday living” assignment. It is only a test. If this were to be a real emergency, you would be advised to contact your nearest intuitive feeling and go from there.  Remember…this is only a test…

As I rushed out of the door at 6:45 am with coffee in one hand and my  purse, keys and several other “have to haves” (don’t think haves is a word…) in tow, I scramble to the car and throw everything in the back seat to prepare myself for the twenty-minute commute to work.  Fighting the morning rush hour traffic seems to be more hectic today than usual

Getting to work on time is a challenge on some mornings but I usually manage to clock in before the 7:30 buzzer sounds.  As I pull into the parking lot and dash into the building with a heated rush, I open the door and stepped into the office.  The first thing I hear is our resident workplace antagonist  blurt out to me in a demeaning  voice  “You’re late!”  I continue on towards the time clock and punched in noticing that I am ONE minute late.  (we are given seven minutes before time is docked.)

After putting my things away I walk over and offer the “antagonist” a piece of homemade lemon, blueberry coffee cake. She sneered at me saying “I don’t want any of that, I just finished my pancakes.”  I immediately twirled around on my heels and walked briskly away.

I’m done with her, so much for trying to make this place a little merrier on a Monday morning.   After spending a few minutes getting settled into my desk and preparing for the work that I need to do today, I am informed that several of our co workers didn’t come into work for various reasons.  Some of these employees are constantly getting away with being late or absent all of the time and never seem to do their share even when they are here.

What really burns me up is that I struggle to arrive at work on time everyday while certain others walk in the door like they deserve to punch in anytime they want to.  Ever since my job demotion two years ago, it is now one of my duties to fill in where ever and whenever is necessary. Which means I never know what I may end up doing even though I have my own responsibilities to manage.

I blame a lack of leadership skills and the way our business handles their employees. My immediate supervisor has a boss, and that boss has a boss and so on.  So, through the chain of command…NOTHING gets accomplished.

As I take over the needed area and try to make sense of what needs to be done. I discover that this particular area is totally out of everything needed to make a productive day. I don’t make enough money to deal with this kind of crap!  It reminds me of dumb and dumber, hitting their heads together and bouncing around with no one knowing what to do.

I am disgusted, frustrated and disappointed that I have to work in such an environment spending more time with this type of system than my own loved ones.  I dream of spending my days in a  more positive, fruitful, inspiring atmosphere and I am diligently striving to make it happen, but, it hasn’t happened yet…

I INSIST that this is just a test of my will and determination. I will accept the one hundred no’s for that single “yes!”

So how is YOUR week?

5 comments on “This is only a test…

  1. GiggsMcGill Jill
    December 13, 2012

    Ugh, I worked with bad management before, and having bad management can really ruin everything as you point out! And co-workers with bad, snotty attitudes? Even worse. If you can’t get along and enjoy working together, it just makes work a drag! I loved my co-workers, and so even with bad management, I didn’t mind going to work because I was always so excited to see everyone! But if that gets taken away from you too…

    I see why your week is a bad one :/

  2. baileyboatcat
    December 12, 2012

    I’m liking not to applaud the antagonist but your positive spirit! Negativity breeds and it’s so important to remain focused on what’s really important in life. Family, friends, love and laughter. You seem to be doing it well. We are preparing to follow our dreams and often get negative comments about our choice of lifestyle. It’s important to laugh at these narrow minded people and realise you are the one with the true wealth.

    • sherrylcook
      December 12, 2012

      Yes! You are so right! Wealth is not all about money…though we do have to pay the bills. Thank you for visiting and commenting. I am looking forward to visiting your site!

  3. Helen P. "Mickey" Megginson
    December 11, 2012

    The antagonist is miserable, & unhappy with her life. I wonder how many people look forward to seeing her face every morning? I work with the type of people you have described. This, you know. In the face of all that miserableness, you will do your job as you always do……..to the best of your ability. How do I know this, because that is who you are, & you & I are alot alike. We have had our struggles in life that have knocked us down. WE GET BACK UP! And, will continue to get back up. But watch out people, because wen we get back up, we are a little stronger! Love your blogs, keep up the good work.

    • sherrylcook
      December 11, 2012

      Whew! Thank you for that! just what I needed to hear. We ARE a lot alike and we ARE much stronger when we get back up…The only problem with a Monday like this is THEY have to deal with us Tuesday through Friday!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , .
