New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

The good, the bad and the ugly.

This post is dedicated to my year of blogging in 2012. It will include as you may have guessed…The good, the bad and the ugly.  

My blog is only 10 months old.  I began in February on a complete whim.  I knew NOTHING about writing a blog. For years I heard the term blog but until recently I had no idea what it meant.

I was in the process of writing my memoirs and I wanted to test the waters so to speak and attempt to get my story out there.  What better way to get a book completed then to begin a new project that you know nothing about right? (I am being facetious here.)

This post is broken into three categories and is not in an order of progression concerning time.

.

The GOOD…

Writing short stories about my life, my thoughts and opinions has been a wonderful experience. I have never considered myself a writer, heck… I almost flunked English in high school.  When readers began to respond to my messages with enthusiasm, it was a pat on the back that I never expected.  I remember my very first comment came from cauldrons and cupcakes and I still look forward to reading her blogs routinely.

My very first real post was a bucket list. I was as green as it gets because my first few “likes” and “comments” made me ecstatic! You can only imagine how I felt when someone actually followed me.

Writing little short stories come easily for me.  I just sit down, think about what I want to write and go.  My soul purpose in this blog was to motivate others…I want everyone to know that there is a life out there and you just have to go and get it.  I want you to learn from my experiences, even though my adventures may be a little humiliating at times.

I learned a lot from the blogs I decided to follow, they are all so good! I love to look at the stats, comments, likes, read other posts and continue to learn how to work the dashboard.  I guess you could say I got hooked.

.

And then…I was given an award…Wow!  what an ego boost.  I’ve learned that bloggers  are a wonderful community of friends, supporters and artists that just want to share their knowledge. I appreciate every single one of you and I feel like some of you are close friends just by reading your thoughts so often.  With new-found confidence I began to experiment with my writing and created a few humorous posts (which seems to come naturally for me.)  All of which are true by the way.

The following post may not be the best written, but I am so proud of the fact that I accomplished these challenges this past year that I wrote about it…

.

According to my stats, The most popular posts have been the following…

.

The BAD…

.

OK…sow I mispill a werd sumetymez, or git the punchuashun wrongh.

You forgive me don’t you?  We are in fact, humans after all.

Uploading pics…oh my goodness!  Once I finally figured out how to do it, I go back to look at the post later…the darn picture is gone!  just an empty box staring at me…

Spam?  really?  you call it spam?  Why on earth would a site called “wesellpursesandiwantyou” be commenting on my site?  Then I get these web administrators commenting and telling me I need tag words, links and title searches, etc, etc etc.  Geez! Is this for real?

But the more I wrote…the more I learned.

  (funny little post about learning techie words associated with a blog.)

.

.

The God awful UGLY!

.

There is no feeling that compares to writing a post knowing you have plenty of editing still to do and you click on the PUBLISH button by mistake  before you are finished. Ooooooo  Noooooo!  My heart sank and I knew that my half-naked post was sent to hundreds of my dear readers.  I just wanted to hide in a hole or crawl through cyberspace and retrieve it…(which is impossible.)  Now that is ugly!

One of my ugliest moments came when I opened up my site one morning to find everything messed up…my password,  not getting comments and  my stats were on zero as if my blog had become invisible!  I was momentarily terrified that all of my readers decided to delete me overnight.  After consulting with techies for weeks…slowly the problem was resolved.  Oh, the headache!

Another ugly would be writing an entire post on my iPhone because my computer was down…and losing the entire post before I could publish it…ouch! that hurts.

A frustrating ugly would include, when I got the bright idea to purchase my own domain and build a real website offering motivational articles, artwork and hopefully market my book.  Little did I know it would be so difficult to get my readers (YOU) to change from one blog to another…uh-hem, better website and subscribe!  I am begging you…please, pretty please…go to  sherrylcook.com and subscribe right now… I’m telling you, it is too difficult to maintain two different sites!   🙂

Having a blog has been a wonderful experience for me. I have found new friends that I’ve never met and I’ve learned a lot about myself during the process.

I look forward to another year of  The good, the bad and the ugly.

So with keyboard in hand I am ready for 2013!

3 comments on “The good, the bad and the ugly.

  1. Pingback: The 100th Post « What If It All Means Something

  2. diannegray
    December 18, 2012

    This is wonderful, Sherry. I’ve also done the God awful UGLY a few times by publishing a half-finished post – as well as THE BAD with horrific typos that can’t be undone! 😀

    Lets hope by 2013 we get it all right! 😉

    • sherrylcook
      December 18, 2012

      Haha Dianne! Hopefully I’ve matured as a writer but we are still human and our computers are just… well, machines?
      Here’s to a better and brighter 2013!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2012 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , .
