New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Keeping the promise

When you make a promise to someone, how often do you wind up keeping it?

 photo credit (promise.JPG)

.

Hopefully you try 100% of the time.  I know there will be times when you can’t keep a promise…things happen sometimes.   Life throws you a curve ball from left field and no matter how hard you try, it just doesn’t get done.

.

The next time you promise someone something, stop and think to yourself. Can I really keep this promise?    If you don’t think you can…then don’t make it a promise…just say you will try or I will do my best etc.

.

A year ago, I spent a lot of time with a dear friend that was dying of cancer. It was the first time I had ever been through anything like this and we knew each other since high school.  We both knew for months that the end of her life was getting closer.  We talked for hours on end and shared so many thoughts about life and the after life.  I wouldn’t trade those times for anything.

.

She made me make a promise to her.  She said “Sherry, I want you to dance.”  She knew that I had been a dance teacher for many years and that phrase would resonate with me.  She wanted me to promise her that I would never take a second of life for granted and to “dance.”

.

So Kathy… I’m writing this to tell you, I AM DANCING!

I am taking advantage of every opportunity that comes my way. I am seeking positive influences in my life.  I am controlling my attitude with feelings of joy and gratitude.  I am living every moment with no regrets.  I do not live my life by my chronological age but instead by how old I feel.  I am not led by what others expect but by my own standards.

.

I am painting, I am pursuing my dreams, I will publish my book, I have started taking a hip hop dance class, I am loving my family and enjoying every second of my life that I can.   I am holding onto my promise Kathy.

When my friend asked me to promise her this, I didn’t realize that she was giving me a gift.  A gift that money cannot buy.  She gave me the gift of living.

.

I’m asking you… to make a promise.  Make a promise to yourself and to me.  I want you to promise to dance.

.

2 comments on “Keeping the promise

  1. the diet solution
    February 9, 2013

    I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else encountering problems with your site. It appears as though some of the written text in your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This might be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Appreciate it

    • sherrylcook
      February 12, 2013

      Not sure if anyone else is having this problem… Anyone?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
