New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Too many hats?

I love hats, I wish I could wear them more often but where I work it just wouldn’t make sense.  When I go out on the weekends with my man, I enjoy wearing hats that compliment my outfit.

The phrase “wearing many hats” often means that this person is doing many different jobs or playing many different roles.  This is my topic for today.   Although I love my hats, I am definitely wearing too many of them!

I’m sure that the majority of you can identify with this situation.  We all have roles that we perform.  Parent, sibling, child, spouse, significant other, janitorial, cook, accountant, health care, counselor, care provider, driver, friend, secretary and internet professional.  And this list is just for daily living.  Think about all the roles you perform at your job!   Sure…they give you a job description when you are hired but you can just throw that in the trash.  You will end up doing many different duties at work.

This is exactly why we must learn to become balanced in our daily lives. We can’t wear only one hat in a days time. We must switch hats all day and give ourselves the balance in order to save our sanity.  Attempting to wear all the hats at once doesn’t work either.  We will get so confused that we forget where we came from and where we are going.

Line up all your hats and take a good look at them.  Are there any you can get rid of?  I’m sure some are more important than others.   These are your priority’s.   Dust them off, keep them nice so they will last forever.

I hope you love all the hats you are wearing and if you don’t, then I hope you learn to switch your hats around and find your balance.

Oh!  and don’t forget to wear your imaginary hat also…for it’s your imagination that brings on the new and improved hats!

4 comments on “Too many hats?

  1. rose
    February 22, 2013

    love the imaginary hat idea! And I too love hats – real ones, that is. you can never have too many!

    • sherrylcook
      February 22, 2013

      There is just something about s hat that finishes an outfit!

  2. diannegray
    February 20, 2013

    I absolutely love my imaginary hat and always slip it on when I go into ‘writing mode’ 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2013 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , .
