New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Another meeting, a different me

I attended an annual staff meeting recently that reviewed our retirement plan, insurance Information and many more mundane topics that gets very redundant after 10 years of employment with the same company.

This year… Something is different. I am sitting in the same drab room that I’ve sat in year after year yet I have this unfamiliar sensation over me.

I learn during this meeting that I need to update my information for my beneficiary if for some reason of my untimely demise.

I believe the reason behind my peculiar feelings this year is due to the realization that I am not the same person that I was this time last year. In the past… I would sit through these  meetings year after year and not much would change.  Looking around at all the familiar faces, we are just another year older.

I’ve grown so much this past year. I AM the same, yet so different. I’ve always been an old soul. (Having a deep appreciation for life even as a young child.) Because of my past experiences of dealing with a birth abnormality for fifty years then suddenly having this obvious abnormality corrected two years ago which resulted in the epiphany of my life.

Yes, I would be so forward as to say it changed me in some ways, for the better I hope.  I’m no longer scared to take chances, I enjoy being who I am and not worrying what others think.  I’m taking bolder steps into unknown territories physically and mentally.  The world can just whirl around me at the pace of a cyclone and I am at peace within my own surroundings.

So I need to update my information on beneficiary forms this year huh?  I surely don’t want everyone battling over my personal possessions in case I kick the bucket.  Another meeting and another year has come and gone…but the progress of life continues to change.

I accept the changes and I look forward to the future.   Don’t write me off just yet!  It’s a new day to start over again.   🙂

 

Sherry L. Cook

http://sherrylcook.com

 

3 comments on “Another meeting, a different me

  1. diannegray
    February 25, 2013

    It’s such an important thing to do, but I always balk at it (which is silly because it’s not going to make any difference to how long I live even though I think it will) 😦

  2. sherrylcook
    February 25, 2013

    Very important to have these things done, I know I procrastinate about this stuff a lot.

  3. CMSmith
    February 25, 2013

    I know we don’t like to think about it much, but after the deaths of my parents last month, one thing I plan to do is make sure I have contingent beneficiaries on absolutely everything. Some things. My dad left to my mom, and because he followed her in death by only two weeks, we were too busy with funeral planning and ceremonies to correct his beneficiaries. So now some things will have to go to probate. It all would have been simpler if we had been named contingent beneficiaries.

    Also, it would have been nice to know what their wishes were regarding some of their personal possessions, like jewelry for example.

    So I hope to put some of our affairs in order when I feel up to it,

    I’m glad you have a new lease on life. What a great opportunity to reevaluate your journey.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2013 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
