New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

In a scramble

  photo credit, visualphotos.com  

Thoughts

Baring my deepest thoughts to my readers is a difficult thing to do emotionally.  On one hand I like to stay private and keep my thoughts to myself where they are secure and no one knows anything…its a safe place to be.  But my intentions of sharing my story, thoughts and feelings override any need for privacy.

What I want…

I want to send a message to people who have feelings of inadequacy, that you are not alone. I want to help them understand that you don’t have to settle for mediocre.   I want them to have the self-confidence that took me a lifetime to gain.

Personally

Looking back over my life of one humiliating experience after another and the feelings that I had of never being able to measure up to what people call “normal.”  I never felt “good enough” and always second guessed myself.

Thousands of people suffer with inadequacies such as hearing loss, speech impediments, wheelchair bound and developmental disabilities. For me personally, it is low-vision.  (You can read more about my personal story here by clicking “about” below)

Have you ever stopped to think?

I cannot drive in unfamiliar places at night. I have difficulty seeing road street names, I can’t see fast food menu’s on the wall or in the drive thru. I can’t recognize people from across a room, I have a problem with depth perception and bright sunlight makes my eye water. I am near sighted with floaters and a touch of glaucoma.

Businesses and marketers are not very accommodating to people like me and I get frustrated when I can’t see a menu.  Just imagine  having to ask the person you are with “can you read this for me?” every time you are in a fast food restaurant.

The future?

My Grandfather became nearly blind as he aged and now my father has been declared legally blind  because of macular degeneration.  I have a fear that this fate will be passed on to me as I grow older as well.

.

In a scramble

Which explains why I feel as though I am “in a scramble” to see everything, do everything and create as many paintings as I can now. Enjoying every second while I can.  I’m sure you’ve heard the phrase in a popular song…”Live as though you are dying.”  Well…I’m seeing as though I’ll be blind.

On a positive note…

I can drive, I can paint, I can see well enough to live a “normal” life (with bumps and bruises of course.) I’m “in a scramble ” to live the most wonderful life imaginable.

In a positive sort of way…It’s a gift, for I am seeing this world and my life in the “now”…having gratitude and making the most of each day.

Are you in a scramble to LIVE?     I sure hope so!

.

http://www.sherrylcook.com

4 comments on “In a scramble

  1. diannegray
    March 26, 2013

    I appreciate every day, Sherry and live like I’m dying. Life is too short to take advantage of everything we have. My hubby is the same as you (having lost his eye over 20 years ago) and I totally understand the issues depth perception. I can’t drive at night or read menus, so we certainly make a great pair! 😀

    • sherrylcook
      March 27, 2013

      We sure do Dianne! So glad you have learned the most important lesson in this life and that is to live as though we’re dying. Many people never learn this and I feel sorry for them. Live girl! lol

  2. terry1954
    March 26, 2013

    Respecting you as much as I do, it would be a pleasure and honor to own one of your paintings. God is with you and although we become afraid he has the perfect plan for you. I am glad you are living as though you are dying…………

    • sherrylcook
      March 26, 2013

      Thank you Terry! I just want others to learn to appreciate life the way I have!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2013 by in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , .
