New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Bacteria, bacillus and bugs, Oh My!

(photocredit Wizardofoz)

.

Imagine the scene from the “Wizard of Oz” where Dorothy is walking down the yellow brick road in the deep, evil forest with her friends… The scarecrow, lion and the tin-man   Arm in arm the frightened group are shivering, shuddering and knees wobbling as they quietly repeat to themselves…“Bacteria, bacillus and bugs, Oh my!   Bacteria, bacillus  and bugs, Oh my!”

.

The above scenario describes me perfectly.  I’m not one to get sick a lot, I can usually get away with a minor cold once or twice a year and that’s about it.  But, this year?… This has been a record for me.  I have caught everything that has crawled, floated around or touched me in some way.

It all began in October when I came down with the weirdest ailment that took nearly three months for me to recover from.  (The doctors never did come up with a name.)  I got a flu shot during this time  thinking I was protecting myself!   It just made matters worse.

I’ve caught every cold, sinus infection, flu, stomach virus and unnamed bug you can imagine.  It also seems that when  a co-worker gets sick, I get it about a week later only it’s twice as bad.  Maybe my immune system is not working properly to fight these things off. (I have a bad thyroid and take meds for this anyway.)

My job does not help  because I work around people who seem to carry a lot of germs. between that and my grandchildren I’m sure the invisible virus’s are swirling around constantly waiting to attack me.  I wash my hands all day, avoid touching doorknobs and shaking hands.  I’m beginning to suffer from mysophobia!

.

.

Spring has finally arrived and along with it…tons and tons of pollen. I hope everything settles soon and the April showers will wash everything away.  I want to go back to the days when I never got sick.

.

Oh dear Summer… I can’t wait for the hot days, boat riding,  sinking my toes down into the sand and wearing flip-flops.

.

 (photo credit blogitrip.com)

.

How have  you felt this winter? (sniffle, sniffle)  am I the only one?

.

4 comments on “Bacteria, bacillus and bugs, Oh My!

  1. diannegray
    April 3, 2013

    Yikes! I hope you;re feeling better soon. We’re heading into winter here and it’s those horrible germs and colds that I dread as well! 😀

    • sherrylcook
      April 3, 2013

      Be careful my friend, they say its a bad year.

  2. terry1954
    April 1, 2013

    I find more ailments as I get older, I hate getting old!!! LOL

    • sherrylcook
      April 1, 2013

      Oh my! Is that what it is??? I’m getting older? I was looking for every other excuse other than that one…lol just kidding!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2013 by in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , , .
