New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Iconic or bust!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/weekly-writing-challenge-iconic/

My Little corner of the blogosphere  (is that a word?) is definitely that…My little corner.   Two years ago, I didn’t even know what a blog was.

I was in the middle of writing my memoirs because I have a very intriguing background. The way my life has played out just sounds like something books and movies are made of. Hence the memoirs…

Someone along the way mentioned that I should start a blog to help get my story out. (I feel an urge to tell my story to anyone that will listen…)  I spent hours upon hours trying to learn my way around the dashboard and the lingo.  Then…just like that, “New Visions” was born.

I hope you read my About  page to understand my story.  Let’s just say, it is a touch unusual.  I began blogging with a vengeance, I wanted thousands of subscribers. I wanted a tribe, an overnight success! but it never came.

I spoke with other bloggers and took advice anywhere I could get it.  My stats numbers rose inch by inch and my subscribers climbed one by one.  I discovered it is much harder than I ever thought.  I saw other sites that had thousands of followers and I wondered… how do they do that?

Now I understand that it’s not about the stats, numbers or followers I get.  It’s all about the content.  It’s my way to tell others to take advantage of every minute, hour, week and year of your life to appreciate everything.

I soon realized that I love to tell my stories in short form, usually humorous, details depicting what life has to offer.  Human interest stories with a lesson to learn about life, love and harmony.

I’ve been given the greatest gift of all in this life and that is to pass on my life story to others, so you can learn without the pain, humiliation and frustrations I had to endure.  We all have our stories it’s true and we should all learn from one another.

eyes photo: eyes DSC00691_zps19c4a2a4.jpg

6 comments on “Iconic or bust!

  1. Pingback: Iconic | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  2. diannegray
    April 3, 2013

    Like you, I’ve learned a lot about myself and others from this blogosphere. Keep up the great work, Sherry 😀

    • sherrylcook
      April 3, 2013

      Thank you Dianne! That means a lot to me… 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Iconic | MythRider

  4. terry1954
    April 1, 2013

    you hold the key to writing. truthful and from the heart is watch reaches others

    • sherrylcook
      April 1, 2013

      I know that is what I love to read from others as well! Thank you Terry

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2013 by in About Me and tagged , , , , , .
