New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

It’s the little things that count

I had to take the challenge today from the WordPress daily prompt,  I just couldn’t pass it up! 

Daily Prompt: The Little Things


This is what I am supposed to write about…

Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that define your world but is often overlooked.

Because it’s the little things that count…that is what makes them big or important.  If it counts…it’s important, right?

Many of my subscribers know about my history because that is what my blog is based upon, but if you are visiting for the first time let me  explain quickly.

I was born with congenital coloboma which is a birth defect that affects the eyes.  I am  blind in one eye and  near-sighted in the other.  I have a touch of glaucoma and floaters which would be bad enough but my right eye was also physically abnormal looking since birth.  This caused me to endure many different emotions growing up and learning to deal with looking different from everyone else.   I have written my memoirs which has yet to be published but I am working on that! 

At the age of fifty (two years ago) I had the opportunity to have the physical abnormality corrected with three surgeries and an artificial eye.  

Now…here is the best part.

People that I meet have no idea that I have an artificial eye!  For the first time in my life, no one stares at me, makes comments or asks me “what is wrong with your eye?”   Which I heard everyday of my life.   It’s my little secret and I love it!

Granted, my friends and family know… but now, I think they tend to forget about it all.    It’s the people you pass in the store, the clerk that checks you out, the children that ask innocent questions, being introduced to new people or going on a job interview.  These are the people who made me cringe or get panic attacks because I knew what they were thinking or the questions they would ask me. (I was even called a monster once.)

So now…It’s the littlest things….I pass by strangers and they DON’T notice me!  Children don’t tug on their mothers arms and ask them what is wrong with that lady and the funny looking eye.  Now… I look straight at them and engage in a conversation.  I just smile and inside…I am secretly thrilled that I look “normal.”

What a freeing experience!

Yes…It’s the little things that are biggest to me.  It’s my world…and I love it.

http://www.sherrylcook.com

.

More daily prompts

  1. May 3 Daily Prompt: The Little Things | Nadeen’s Corner
  2. Daily Prompt: The Little Things « Mama Bear Musings
  3. Daily Prompt: The Little Things | cognitive reflection
  4. I Love Sharing My Favorite Music | Never Stationary
  5. Daily Prompt: The Little Things | Storm In A B-Cup
  6. Prompt: Mobile Phone And Flipping Pages | Wise Counsel
  7. The Invaluable Tools: Reading and Writing, and the story of P. | The Magic Black Book
  8. Freedom | Spunky Wayfarer
  9. An Ode To The Pen | Self-Help for Creative Deprived
  10. Aunt Sadie’s Locket (Short story) | The Jittery Goat
  11. It’s the little things that count | New Visions
  12. All the Small Things | The Cheese Whines
17 comments on “It’s the little things that count

  1. Pingback: URL

  2. diannegray
    May 8, 2013

    What a brilliant response to the Daily prompt. The eye is little, yet it is SO important on so many levels. I think I may have told you this before, but my hubby has a prosthetic eye and it’s barely noticeable. I love this age where professionals can correct just about anything – it makes such a huge difference 😀

  3. Pingback: MINIATURES- THE LITTLE THINGS! | Diary of a mind

  4. sheng
    May 4, 2013

    Artificial eye, very interesting!

    Here’s my answer to the Daily Post! http://sdumalay.blogspot.com/2013/05/i-keep-watch.html

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Little Things | On My Front Porch

  6. Pingback: Friday Ficlet/Fragment – Words, Words, Words | Tommia's Tablet

  7. Pingback: The Little Things – Daily Prompt | Lyrical Anarchy

  8. Pingback: Small But Meaningful | Edward Hotspur

  9. Pingback: Aunt Sadie’s Locket (Short story) | The Jittery Goat

  10. evesreflections
    May 3, 2013

    Great post! and quite interesting the way some little things make such a BIG difference

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s Those Little Things I Appreciate | My Daily Prompt Blog

  12. Epi B
    May 3, 2013

    It’s funny now a days so many people are doing crazy things to stick out and be everything but “normal”. To call someone “average” has almost become an insult and I must admit that I have felt this way myself at some point in life. Thanks for putting things into perspective there and good to hear you are feeling more comfortable in life.

    • sherrylcook
      May 3, 2013

      Thank you! You are so right… I wish more people would realize this and be happier with who they really are. Thanks for the comment!

  13. writerwannabe763
    May 3, 2013

    What a great ‘little’ thing … It’s a big change in you life…happy for you…Diane

    • sherrylcook
      May 3, 2013

      Thank you Diane, I am enjoying every second of my “new” life. which is what we should do all the time anyway!

  14. Pingback: Fiddling Fixer | Travellin' Thru Rambles

Leave a Reply

