New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

My audacious experience

Definition of the word audacious – extremely bold or daring, recklessly brave, fearless, brazen. 

Is there such a thing as being overly confident?

We constantly hear things like “You can do it, have confidence, get a backbone, be strong, assert your self for success, never let em see you sweat and on and on.”

While this is all good…can we take this to a level where it has an adverse effect?  Can it harm us?   You bet it can!

You can ruin your reputation  that you worked so hard to build instantaneously when you come across overly confident or cocky and it can be irreversible.

Some people are just born with a lot of confidence.  They usually turn out to be leaders and risk takers.  The rest of us need to learn how to have sureness and pomposity, we respond to encouragement and pleasing others.

One of the most important quotes I’ve ever memorized that has helped me through many obstacles is the seven “P’s.”

Prior Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance.”   I’ve recited this to many of my friends, co workers and even my children.  If you do the seven P’s you will never fail.

.

I had my own experience with being a little too audacious just a few days ago.

I joined a local toastmasters club recently and I’ve given seven speeches already with rave reviews from everyone.  (I seem to have a knack for getting up in front of people and talking, entertaining and making others feel comfortable.) Maybe it comes from 20 years of being a dance teacher, acting in local theaters or entertaining audiences during exhibition shows as emcee in our local area.  Whatever the reason, I am always prepared by the seven P’s.  When I am prepared…I have the confidence to do a good job.

I was scheduled to do a “visual aids” speech recently. The timing was not very good because it is a busy time of year for me. I’ve been out-of-town on trips the past two weekends, working full-time, trying to get my home business off and running and balancing time for my granddaughters and significant other doesn’t leave much time for planning a speech.  I thought to myself, “I can do a speech on my art and use my paintings as the visual aids!”  My rationalization was “I already know everything so I can just “wing it” and talk as I show the paintings.”  And may I add… I did not use the seven “P’s” method.

I was being audacious or cocky…overly confident.

As I was giving my speech, I was uncomfortable. Making up things as I went, uncovering painting after painting. My speech had no structure or rhythm to it.  My fellow toastmasters enjoyed it and I received a good evaluation but I knew in my heart that I had failed miserably.  I have high expectations for myself  and I know…had I used the seven P’s method…It could have been much better.

Another lesson learned…no matter how good you are, or how much you think you know about a subject, NEVER get overly confident.  Always do your homework, be prepared for the worst and expect the best.

Have any of you ever experienced a lesson from being audacious or presumptuous?   Please share so we can all learn!

 

One comment on “My audacious experience

  1. diannegray
    May 9, 2013

    I’m usually good at public speaking but I remember a few years back when I did a presentation for a room of executives. I cracked a joke at the beginning to get everyone a little more relaxed and NO ONE laughed. That put me off for the entire presentation! 😯

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , .
