New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

How many things can YOU do at once?

My life is full. 

I’ve gone and done it.  I  “again”  find myself in a pickle.

I preach to others about having balance in life, to remove the excess busyness and make time to enjoy the little things.

I write posts to you…my dear readers about finding a simpler life and using  meditation skills to calm and de-stress your life.  For the longest time I achieved this through making it a priority and constantly purging away unneeded meetings, activities and work, but alas!

Today, I woke up to find myself right smack in the middle of being busy running from one thing to another without a chance to breathe.  Every night of the week is swept away in different things I either HAVE to do or WANT to do!  I work all day, every day which leaves very little time to do things like grocery shopping, post office or banking (things I have to do.)  Trying to make enough money to pay the bills, take the dog to the groomers, still trying to get my business off the ground after hours, clean the house, check on my parents, help my daughter with her dance studio, cleaning out my extra apartment for my friend to move into, paint the walls and I will abruptly stop here so I will not bore you to tears but….you get the picture?

I’ve been through this cycle many times.  I learned many years ago to slow down and make my life simple in order to  enjoy things more and it really does work.  The problem is, I slowly fall back into the rut of taking on new activities that I want to do or need to do.  Before I can comprehend what is happening, I’ve gotten nose deep into everything.

“Happiness is often the result of being too busy to be miserable.”

~Anonymous~

If the above quote is true then I must REALLY be happy!!!

(photo credit-traciscottage.com)

.

I have so many things pending right now that I must just dive in and hustle through, set aside the activities that can wait and forge ahead!

.

I live by the barbarian creed,  since I am now a true barbarian, read more about that here…

The battle ground of the barbarian challenge!

the creed goes something like this.

On the battlefield I was born, nursed with sweat and blood. 

forged with iron and baptized in blood, fear is not an option. 

We sweat blood…We laugh at fear.”

.

Now…I understand you may think this is a little harsh but it gives me strength to know that if I can finish a real barbarian challenge…then I can definitely get through the next few weeks of very few restful moments and a whole lot of work, busyness and chaos.

I have scheduled a Swedish massage on Sunday morning and I will listen to my inner voice as I race to the finish line because I am a barbarian!!!

.

Do you ever find yourself in a race for time?   What are your secrets to handling it?

.

Another quote…

“To say “too busy” is merely to say “confused priorities.” 

~Jonathan Lookwood Huie~

FYI

If you enjoyed this post visit http://www.sherrylcook.com  for more information on my life, book, art and motivational speaking engagements.)  I would love to see you join our campaign of people helping people!

.

2 comments on “How many things can YOU do at once?

  1. diannegray
    June 4, 2013

    I’m hearing you, Sherry! I’ve really got to learn to slow down because the faster I go, the behinder I get! 😉

    • sherrylcook
      June 5, 2013

      Isn’t that the truth! Just wondering when our time to relax is?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2013 by in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , .
