New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Might As Well Jump!

Daily Prompt: Might As Well Jump

What’s the biggest risk you’d like to take — but haven’t been able to? What would have to happen to make you comfortable taking it?

Today’s daily prompt is easy for me to answer but so hard to do!

The biggest risk I would like to take – but haven’t been able to is…

Getting out of this 7:30 – 4:00 pm rut of working at a job that underpay’s me with no hope for progression in the company.

I want to pursue doing things I enjoy and calling my own hours.  I don’t mind working.  I just want to work at what I enjoy doing.  I feel as though I’ve done my time working at a corporate business helping others to make even more money.  Now, at my age, it’s not all about the money.  It’s about loving what you are doing.

I want to paint, share my story and help others, spend more time with my family, have time to cook meals, plant a garden and just have more time to call my own.  Am I afraid to do it?  YES!

Call me spineless or sissified but quitting a job that you’ve had for eleven years with insurance and paid vacation is not easy.   I have bills to pay, I have to eat, what about insurance?  These are all very real questions.

I haven’t just decided to do this flamboyantly…It is a plan that I conceived years ago.  I’ve followed my plan, I’ve begun my personal business on the side while working.  I can see slow progress being made and I know at some point I will have to “jump” if I want this.

In order for my dream to happen…

I am the type of person that I like to “know” that I will be able to pay my bills, have some sort of steady income to rely on.  As of now, I do not have this.  I will not give up, I will continue to plan, implement and grow my business.

I have the determination, energy and belief that this is what I should do.  So I continue.  I hope everyone gets to see their dream happen during their lifetime.

Much Love to everyone!

Sherry L. Cook

http://sherrylcook.com

  1. Push me! | Icescreammama
  2. Quit My Job | Daily Prompt: Might As Well Jump | likereadingontrains
  3. Should I, or shouldn’t I? | Hope* the happy hugger
  4. Jumping into Marriage | Texan in Tokyo
  5. Daily Prompt: Might as well Jump | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  6. The Incredible Jumping Logan | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  7. Letting Go: Daily Prompt Might as Well Jump | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  8. I’d risk my lifeblood | Right Down My Alley
  9. Leaping Over the Fear of Failure | Ramisa the Authoress
  10. Daily Prompt: Migh as well Jump « Mama Bear Musings
  11. Utter Lack of Ability | windandlaughter
  12. Daily Prompt: Might As Well Jump And Be Happy | Mindful Splatter
  13. Daily Prompt: Might As Well Jump – show us JUMP. | masadiso79’s Blog
  14. Might As Well Jump: A Leap of Faith | Mary Angelini Photography
  15. Jump! It can’t get any worse! | Nanuschka’s Blog
  16. Catherine B.’s Blog | High Risk, High Reward | Daily Prompt: Jump
  17. Jump Right In | Tony’s Texts
  18. Fear Of Books (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  19. Still doable | Spunky Wayfarer
  20. Sorta-Ginger | Gotta Start Sometime
  21. Jump | The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist
  22. IN MY FACE (what I should have done and didn’t) so might as well jump! | BORNTOBEAFAN
  23. Daily Prompt: I Took A Leap Of Faith | My Daily Prompt Blog
  24. Daily Prompt – The Deathly Jump | Create & Motivate!
  25. To Jump or Not to Jump | mobibrad
  26. might as well jump. | The Living Oils Project
  27. Daily Prompt: Free Write | One Starving Activist
  28. Almost, maybe | Relax…
  29. the PEEP SHOW: Daily Prompt | Might As Well Jump | the TRASH BASH
7 comments on “Might As Well Jump!

  1. Pingback: Donate | Vivir, que no es poco

  2. Pingback: Fear Of Books (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: A COVENANT MADE | hastywords

  4. josephrathjen
    June 18, 2013

    Same here, Sherryl. Although I make great money and have only a few years left to retire, I’m afraid my freelance writing business may catch up in time constraints (and hopefully income) to my full-time job, and force me to make a decision. I should be so lucky, huh?

  5. mogispie
    June 18, 2013

    Sounds like there are many of us in wanting to leave the rat race but just can’t risk it. I hope that sooner than later we’ll all get to experience our dream jobs and get paid for it too!

    • sherrylcook
      June 18, 2013

      Oh how I agree with you. It’s not surprising to me to see how many in the daily prompt alone have the same dream.
      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2013 by in About Me and tagged , , , , , , , .
