New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

I never knew writing a book could be so hard!

I wanted to write my memoirs. 

I wanted to let people know about my life, the lessons I learned and how I overcame.   Sure, it sounded like a great idea, I will just take some time and slowly, chapter by chapter write my memories.

Three and a half years later, I find myself still writing this darn book and I don’t think it’s ever going to end. 

A year ago I asked a journalist friend of mine to look over the manuscript. A few months later it was returned to me with notes, scribbles and opinions all over it.  I obviously needed to make it into more of a “story” instead of narrating through it.

So I return to the manuscript and started with chapter one changing everything from past tense to present tense.  Let me tell you, this was a major undertaking in itself. 

Six months later I get the manuscript back saying maybe it should be narrated more.

What? Are you kidding me?    I decide to leave it the way it is. 

I’ve asked a few good friends that I trust to read it and give me their opinions.  Grammar needs to be fixed.  Sentence structure needs revising.

I never claimed to be an English scholar or journalist. 

I looked into finding an editor to assist me only to find out they cost a LOT of money.

I don’t have that kind of money!   I just wanted to tell my story. 

Research tells me that writing query letters to publishing companies can be time-consuming and could take years before hearing back from them.  So maybe I should self publish.

I chose createspace to download my manuscript and soon learned to navigate around to build my book cover (which I am quite proud of.)

So now I am stuck.

What do I do now?  wait until I can pay for an editor?   That will be a mighty long time.   Close my eyes and hit “publish?”  Mistakes and all?

I’ve gone too far to quit now, I’ve got to finish this project.

How do you authors write, edit, publish and print your books in such a short time frame?   Three and a half years is WAY to long for me.  HELP!

Suggestions?   Anyone?   Encouragement maybe?     Ho hum….

visit my website at

http://sherrylcook.com

3 comments on “I never knew writing a book could be so hard!

  1. diannegray
    June 26, 2013

    It’s a long process, Sherry! I hate editing so I usually put my stories on YouWriteOn and get feedback there – it can be a really tough experience, but mainly it’s worth it (because it’s free). I used to send my stories to editors, but they would always ask me to change them and then another editor would tell me to change it back again, so it can get very confusing and highly expensive.

    Another thing I do before publishing is upload my story on LULU (also free) and order the book (not very expensive at all just P&H). Once I have the “book” in my hands it really feels like a ‘real book’ I read it with a critical eye (as if I’m reading someone else’s story because it’s amazing how different it is reading a book instead of a manuscript). If I need to make changes I do it then and then I update it on LULU and order several books (I think it’s about $5 a book + P&H depending on how big the book is). I send these books out to family and friends for feedback (you’ll find people prefer to read a ‘book’ rather than a manuscript). And then I self- publish.

    If you need anymore help with any of this, just let me know 😀

    • sherrylcook
      June 26, 2013

      Oh thank you so much! Those are all good ideas. Do you also use lulu to publish? YouWriteOn eh? I’m not sure if I’m thick skinned enough for that kind of criticism but if its free I may give that a try. That’s better than publishing with a lot of mistakes!
      When I uploaded the book to createspace it shows 217 pages for a 6×9 book. I am so ready to get this monkey off my back! Thanks again for your knowledge, I feel like a child in a grown up world learning all of this. 🙂

      • diannegray
        June 26, 2013

        Like learning anything new, it’s not always an easy road, but once you get into the swing of things it becomes second nature. Best of luck and let me know how you go.

        PS – yes – I use LULU to publish my hard cover books and think they’re great 😀

        YouWriteOn also do a Book of the Year award for those excerpts that get high marks – I didn’t realise this until my story ‘Soul’s Child’ won it last year. It gave me a big (and wonderful) surprise totally out of the blue! 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2013 by in About Me and tagged , , , , , , .
