New Visions

"Seeing" things a little differently

Why am I following?

Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest?

What makes a blog great? What makes you follow a blog or “Like” a post?

When I first began blogging a little over a year ago, I was amazed at the number of blogs out here.  I soon realized there is no way to even scratch the surface of finding blogs that I am interested in.

I have subscribed to many blogs and I enjoy them all.  The reasons for my following these particular blogs are:

1.  My personal interests.    The blogs I follow are what I am interested in.  This is just common sense, why would I follow someone who doesn’t interest or entertain me?

2.  Interaction –   When I feel a connection to someone through their writing or comments, a friendship occurs and thus the feeling of  an online interaction with others.

3.  Content –  I enjoy the simpler form of writing, getting your point across with fewer words.  If I have to read 700 plus words then I will get bored.  I like the ones that get to the point.   🙂

I have truly enjoyed my blogging experience.  I have learned a lot about writing while connecting with some wonderful people.

I find it difficult to create a huge following like some of you but that’s OK.   I enjoy reading your posts  and finding wonderful new blogs to follow.

http://www.sherrylcook.com

Check out what other bloggers wrote about today’s prompt…

  1. Daily Prompt: Great or greatest – Teach me something or make me laugh | mindurspirit
  2. 1 July Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | family photos food & craft
  3. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Books, Music and Movies : my best friends
  4. Recipe for a great blog. | The untold, the unsaid…
  5. One of the ‘Great’ or ‘Big’ *smile | Chicomallorca’s Blog
  6. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Faraziyya
  7. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? – show us GREATNESS. | masadiso79’s Blog
  8. A Ten-Minute Poem | just another outlet
  9. Give a little bit of yourself to me | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  10. The Greatest? | Musings of a Suburban Creampuff
  11. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? « Mama Bear Musings
  12. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Postcards from
  13. Why Do You Like This? [Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest?] | unknowinglee
  14. What Makes A Good Blog? – I Want Blood, Not Catsup | The Jittery Goat
  15. why follow? | Prayers and Promises
  16. The Greatest… | The Rider
  17. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Quirky Brunette
  18. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Under the Monkey Tree
  19. Blogging Does Not Make One Great | Stuphblog
  20. Great or Greatest? | bheehappy
  21. Daily Post: Great or Greatest? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  22. Compelling | Maine Forest CafeHow to Brew a GREAT Blog (or not) | Iam Who Ia downtownnokomis
  23. To Promote, or Not to Promote. | The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist
  24. Not so great | Rob’s Surf Report
  25. What Made Hers Work for Me | clarior e tenebris
  26. Ali told me I’M the greatest | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  27. The Friends I’ve Yet To Meet | Dream Big, Bark Loudly
  28. Meanings of “Like” | Spunky Wayfarer
  29. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | George and Nigel
  30. Daily Prompt: Thumbs Up | One Starving Activist
  31. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | joanaslittleworld
  32. Help me learn | Vivir, que no es poco
  33. Great Blogs… | Haiku By Ku
  34. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? « Getting Rid Of Boredom
  35. Tell me a story | Explorer Leslie
  36. Great or Greatest | Geek Ergo Sum
  37. Greatness or not, this is for me. | tornin2’s Blog
  38. Daily Prompt: Great or Greatest? | Mindful Splatter
  39. Daily Prompt: Great? Greater? Greatest? | SERENDIPITY
  40. a weekend in Connecticut | To Pursue Happiness
  41. Community: Daily Post | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  42. Great or Greatest? | The Nameless One
  43. True Colours | Clive’s Blog
  44. Telling A Personal Story | Self-Help for Creatively Deprived
  45. It’s all about customization | djgarcia94
  46. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/daily-prompt-great/   | thoughtsofrkh
  47. Like You | clarior e tenebris
  48. Daily Prompt: Greatness | Hamburg und Mee(h)r
  49. a blogger is only good as his last post | Musings of a Random Min
15 comments on “Why am I following?

  1. Marso
    July 1, 2013

    I’m glad to read your comment, because as a long-time writer (short-time poster), I wondered. My time spent writing 140-character tweet-size fiction helped a lot!

    • sherrylcook
      July 1, 2013

      Glad to know I might have contributed to more shorter & simpler posts!
      Tweet size fiction? Could this possibly be a new category? Thanks for visiting & commenting!

  2. Pingback: Greatness of Heart: A Humane Nation Wayne Pacelle’s Blog | Dog Leader Mysteries

  3. Pingback: What Makes A Good Blog? – I Want Blood, Not Catsup | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Help me learn | Vivir, que no es poco

  5. diannegray
    July 1, 2013

    Oh yes, Sherry – short posts are certainly the best. If I come to a long post I usually put it aside to read later (and then forget!)

  6. Pingback: Great or Greatest? – Popcorn & Movies | Khana's Web

  7. Pingback: Not so great | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: What Makes Me Like A Post? | My Daily Prompt Blog

  9. Pingback: A Ten-Minute Poem | just another outlet

  10. Pingback: Ali told me I’M the greatest | I Didn't Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving

  11. J.
    July 1, 2013

    Great post! I too, like yourself, enjoy reading posts that are short and sweet. I tend to do that with my writing as well. Get to the point before the reader starts to lose interest and move on to another post.

    • sherrylcook
      July 1, 2013

      I couldn’t agree with you more! Thanks for commenting!
      Cheers, Sherry

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 1, 2013 by in About Me and tagged , , , , .
